44.9g Long/Low/Wide Upgrade

bucknellreefer

bucknellreefer

Some History:

So back in 2006 I started my first reef tank, a standard 10g, documented here:

http://www.nano-reef.com/topic/89587-college-10g-newb-reef/

About a year later a moved everything to a 20H:

http://www.nano-reef.com/topic/122164-20h-portable-starboard-reef/

After I graduated from college in 2008 I thought I'd be able to upgrade again to a 33g Oceanic Cube. That never happened for a number of reasons so I sold the 33g and went into maintenance mode on the 20H (occasional water changes, feeding the fish, adding nothing).

In March of 2012 I moved from Baltimore to Salt Lake City and I drove out with my clown fish (the same two I bought in 2006 for my original 10g) in the cab of my moving truck. I did the drive out in three 14 hour days and everything made the trip safely.

Over the years I have, unfortunately, had a lot of experience breaking down and moving my tank so I thought I had it down pretty much perfectly. Unfortunately when I got to Utah I put everything back in the 20H without doing a good enough job cleaning out all of the dead things that had been marinating in the back of the Uhaul for 3 days.

My first morning in Utah my girlfriend (now fiancee) woke me up in tears saying the fish were dying. I jumped out of bed and quickly grabbed the barely alive clowns off of the bottom of the toxic ammonia soup tank and threw them in a bucket with some live rock and water that I very fortunately hadn't put in the tank yet. I lost my six line wrasse and all of my remaining coral before I could rescue them.

I rushed out to the closest LFS (which I'd never heard of/been to) and thankfully they had premixed water and a replacement 20H. I filled it up and moved everything over, ran a bunch of carbon and did daily water changes for a week and managed to save my clowns.