Cultivated Reef

New nano reefkeeping book.

atoll

Nano Reef Aquariums. A Comprehensive Guide for the Nano Reef Hobbyist. By Albert J Thiel. A review by Les Melling.

First of all let me state I have known Albert Thiel for some years but have only recently been re acquainted with him. We go back to the 80s/90s when Albert visited the UK to undertake talks at various seminars. I won’t hide the fact that I helped with some of the information and photographs contained within Albert’s book. Most notably I introduced him to a device called the “Oxydator” some months ago which Albert now used in his own nano reef aquarium.

I also provided a few photographs of corals taken from my own nano aquarium. I have been keeping reef tanks of one kind or another for over 30 years in which time I have had 7 aquariums of various sizes ranging from a 130 gallon sump system to a 10 gallon nano tank. My present aquarium is a 2’ cube with sump with 60 gallons capacity.

Right enough about me what about Albert’s new book. I recall exchanging emails and PMs with Albert about currently available books on nano reefkeeping during which I informed Albert of the need for a new up to date dedicated nano reefkeeping book. What I believed was needed was a book for both the new nano reefkeeper and the more experienced in fact an all encompassing book leaving no stone unturned. What Albert has produced I believe is such a book with bang up to date information and written in his own style. The book is so easy to read and hard to put down which all good books should be in my opinion.