• Cobalt Neo-Therm Submersible heater

Water Level Control

• JBJ ATO
  • Aqua Lifter pump

Tank Management

• Mr DJ PSC300

Three Feet and 12 Gallons of Learning Capacity [retired]

Background:

Time to get this bad girl up and running.
I have been anticipating my first nano reef build for 3 years now but school and lack of funds kept those ambitions at bay. Although I am still a broke student :D. I've learned from a past attempt to start a reef tank that its okay to take my time and collect equipment over time; so thats what I did. Over the past few months I've been spending a lot of time in the classified section looking for some nice toys for this tank. I've also been talking to a lot of the members on here looking for advice and ideas. Big thanks to those who helped me out.

So this is the glass box I've been drooling over for years; the Mr. Aqua Long 12 Gallon.

IMAG0483.jpg

Beautiful.

IMAG0541.jpg

IMAG0540.jpg

Here's what I got to show for the past few months of trolling around NR and talking to patback. Thanks bud. :)

FTS

April 23rd 2013 - Initial Start Date

DSC_00012-1.jpg

May 2013

DSC_0001.jpg

June 2013

IMAG0869.jpg

July 2013

IMAG0971.jpg

August 2013

IMAG1082.jpg

September 2013

IMAG1142.jpg

October 2013

IMAG1264.jpg

Things marked with a * are not yet obtained or finalized.

Display Tank
  • 1 drilled drain with a strainer
  • 1/2 drilled return
  • Painted back panel (black)
  • Sitting on a DIY stand

Sump/Refugium and Biological Filtration

• Long 20 Gallon
  • 1/8 glass baffles
  • 13 lbs of BRS Reef Saver base rock
  • 20 lbs of Fiji Pink sand

Lighting

• FishNeedIt 3' Dual T5HO fixture
  • I think I need better bulbs down the road. Suggestions?

Water Movement

• Eheim 1000 Compact
  • Deciding on an mp10es or 2 nano powerheads (leaning towards mp10)*

Temperature Control

• Shoot. I just realized I dont have a heater.*
  • Well, I do have a few. Just none that I know are reliable. So Ill use them to cycle.

Water Level Control