Innovative Marine Aquariums

15 gallon aqueon Column noob here

Idontknowz

Hi, I just got my tank up and running about 19 days ago (live rock and sand), 15 days in I got a Hermit crab and 2 Nassarius snails to help clean up. Today I'm going to do my first water change. I have not upgraded anything that came with the tank yet (filter and t5 light) I did add a power head (250 gph I believe) I will take this power head out and use it in my saltwater mixing bucket and probably buy two more, more powerful, power heads. anyways, I'm taking it very slow and was wondering if anyone had this tank or a similar size foot print that could sell me on some good hardware I should upgrade to. I have an idea of what I want to run but am a noob and always open for some advice. all tips and advice welcome!!
also what to expect in this long road to establish this tank! `John

post-78705-0-94546500-1369104839_thumb.jpg

post-78705-0-59921200-1369105140_thumb.jpg

post-78705-0-84844200-1369105548_thumb.jpg

post-78705-0-77751400-1369105651_thumb.jpg

post-78705-0-37752900-1369105808_thumb.jpg

post-78705-0-48354100-1369105932_thumb.jpg

post-78705-0-48814400-1369106133_thumb.jpg

• Replies 91
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The stock light is only suitable for a fish only tank (which is fine if you don't want to keep a full reef). If I were making it a reef tank, I'd put a PAR38 LED bulb above it.

For filtration, You could hang a protein skimmer on the back and get a BRC carbon reactor (for an activated carbon/GFO mix). Or you could drill the back for an overflow (which might be nice). The dimensions will likely limit the size of the sump (but it could still give you a place for a heater, reactor, and small sump skimmer).