ReefCleaners.org

Nuvo 16

dougiek

So this is being started about 2 weeks after the tank was actually started. I bought this tank with 2 spin-streams from a guy off craigslist for only $275! The tank was brand new and everything else was only used for 3 weeks so basically I got the brand new $400 set up for $275. Every fish store around me seems to have one of these as their display tanks so I have had some firsthand experience to go off of in setting mine up. They all run it stock except 1 store supplements an LED bar over it for coral growth. It's definitely a beautiful tank!

------------------------

Current 11/27/12

Tank: Nuvo 16

Lighting: AI Vega w/ New Controller

Heater: EHEIM Jager 50W

Rock: 15lbs Dry Rock

Sand: 20lbs Live Aragonite Fiji Pink

Extras:

-Purigen and PhosGuard

-JBJ Auto Top Off w/ Toms Water Lifter

-Eheim Auto Feeder (for short breaks and as a back up for long breaks)

Fish

2 Ocellaris Clownfish

1 Flame Angelfish

1 Yellow Watchman Goby

Inverts

1 Peppermint Shrimp

1 Tiger Pistol Shrimp

1 Horseshoe Crab

1 Pom Pom Crab

Astrea Snails

Bumblebee Snails

Nassarius

Mexican Turbo

Baby Starfish (from live rock)

6 Blue Leg Hermits

Corals

Frogspawn

Green Star Polyp

Encrusting Pavona

Various Zoas (don't know the names)

Red War Coral

I started with all dry rock and used the live sand to supplement. I have been dosing Microbacter7 and even with everything in there haven't seen much of a spike of anything. Not sure if there just hasn't been enough to start a cycle or if the bacteria can adequately manage the amount of ammonia that has been incrementally added.

Salinity is around 1.025.

9/25/12

8024797375_f9ffd6af8c_b.jpg

9/31/12

8048560375_3b0c00d6b1_b.jpg

10/3/12

8052263936_57067beb50_b.jpg

11/22/12

8222353801_6b7dd0a45f_b.jpg

11/27/12

8223419768_3243042078_b.jpg

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply