SaltCritters.com

Culturing Tigger Copepods

PureColorDesigns

PureColorDesigns

First off i have a 20Gallon Long with 20lbs of LR and 40lbs of LS and i have recently purchased a Mandarin Dragonet which i added to the tank yesterday. He has plenty of places to hide and i have added a bottle of Tigger Copepods. He is eating and loves all of his hiding places in my rock scape. I want to insure he never runs out of food obviously so i want to Culture Tigger Copepods. I am looking for information from anyone that has successfully achieved this. I have a few questions and would like to see if my plan will work. I am a Noob Nano Reefer!

My Plan is to have a 5 gallon bucket (lowes bucket) and have an air pump and stone. I will feed them Phyto-feast and i will be adding one bottle of them to see what happens. I will add new water not from my tank with a specific gravity of 1.020 to 1.025

1. Should i keep the bucket covered or does it need light?
  2. Is a bucket ok or is glass a better option so light can get in?
  3. How long does this cycle of life take from egg to Mandarin Food?
  4. Should i add any LR or LS from my tank?
  5. Is this an effective method to have a great quantity of copepods or will they die off because i have too many and crash my culture?

Please give me any advise you have as i am planning on starting this tonight!

Thanks in advance!

First off i have a 20Gallon Long with 20lbs of LR and 40lbs of LS and i have recently purchased a Mandarin Dragonet which i added to the tank yesterday. He has plenty of places to hide and i have added a bottle of Tigger Copepods. He is eating and loves all of his hiding places in my rock scape. I want to insure he never runs out of food obviously so i want to Culture Tigger Copepods. I am looking for information from anyone that has successfully achieved this. I have a few questions and would like to see if my plan will work. I am a Noob Nano Reefer!