Innovative Marine Aquariums

SPS KEEPERS (please chime in)

jbb

Did a few parameter tests after about 2 weeks of automated dosing 5ml every 3days of ESV B-Ionic 2 part, and had these results :

cal - 420 (hanna checker)

alk - 7.6 (hanna checker)

P04- 0.01 (hanna checker)

Mag - ~1460 (salifert)

SG - 1.026

Salt is Aquavitro Salinity 5g WC's every sunday

The tank is 8g with 20 long sump/fuge, and AI Nano and is SPS dominant but all are small frags. My concern is that my alk may be a bit low, what do you guys have as a target range or what have you found to work best ?

I am new to the SPS world and there are SO many conflicting threads that my head is spinning. Any help would be awsome.

Thanks in advance

You might want to raise it, but stability is the most important thing. If everuthing looks healthy and is growing well, then continue doing whatever it is your doing. If you want to maybe increase growth rates you can supplement to increase alk and CA a little, but not much. You need to make sure that it is balanced, but again stability is your best friend

Everything looks good for the most part. My issue is my blue torts, they are receeding from the base, it is super slow and only started when I lowered my lighting intensity to acclimate some new frags. I have started raisng my lights again but it seems that the popular alk # is around 9 so I want to make sure that with me being at 7.6 that im not harming anything.

I do similar water changes on about the same size set up and get good results without dosing at all. Stability says it all. If you don't dose you don't have to test for it. Simplicity is the goal. If everything looks healthy and is doing good then you have done your job.