inTank Media Baskets

My experience- quick cycle- Biocube 29 G

Watson315

This forum was really helpful in setting up my saltwater tank. This is my first attempt at saltwater, and though I've done a freshwater aquarium before, I wouldn't consider myself very experienced.

I have a new Biocube 29:

-upgraded water pump to a RIO HF 6

-Removed blue sponge

-Stuffed filter floss into the top overflow from chamber two to chamber three

-Opened up the overflow from chamber one to chamber two

-50 Watt heater in chamber one

-DIY media rack in chamber two with filter floss, purigen, and chemi pure; I might add cheato later on if nitrates become a problem- the new biocube has a clear window to let in light

-Added the Aquaticlife 115 skimmer in chamber two next to the media rack

-Added a Hydor Coralia evolution 425 powerhead

The skimmer works well, but as I understand it all skimmers are tempermental. It produces a yellow/brown fluid in the cup, so I guess it's doing it's job. Takes a few days to get going.

So here's my experience:

Day 1- added tap water, appropriate quantities of salt and live sand to the tank

At this point I didn't even dechlorinate my water, and I'm on a municipality. I'm sure people are going to say I wasted money on live sand to kill it with chlorinated water, but my cycle went so quick I would beg to differ.

Day 3- Added 35 lbs of live rock, adjusted salinity, pH, added tap water conditioner, and tested for ammonia, nitrite and nitrates

I seemed to have low level ammonia, nitrites and nitrates from the very beginning; 0.25-0.50 ppm and around 5-10 ppm for nitrates.

I purchased the live rock from Petco, Fiji premium on sale, and its good stuff, tons of little nooks and crannies. 2 day shipping. I also got about 1 pound of live rock from my local LFS, to help seed the tank

Day 5- No changes with ammonia or anything else. Added the first Aquabella saltwater treatement.