Jump to content


Photo

Pacific East Aquaculture, Happy Ending.


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1
buddythelion

buddythelion

    Zoa Noob

  • Members
  • 2,896 posts
  • Joined 28 Jan 2007
  • San Jose, California

The emailing was great and shipping and packaging was phenomenal, by far one of the best. Ordered three zoa frags. Two of them were great, completely WYSIWYG but the third one... disappointment.

It's clearly NOT what I ordered. First of all, it is completely different from what the picture showed it to be, which is this beautiful metallic blue sheen and green tips. The center is a darker blue with vibrant gold rings. Also there's at least 8-9 polyps. However, once they opened up they look NOTHING like the picture. I get this drab grey base and a faded white center around the mouths. No green skirt, no metallic blue, just a very overall unattractive zoa...

Not what I ordered. Also, the MAX polyps on my frag is 7. So it's definitely NOT the frag I ordered... It was fairly expensive, $69.99 (so $41.99 after the 40% off, but BEFORE shipping costs), to just let pass by. I've heard great things from PEA, so I'm hoping they fix this.

Here are the pictures:

What they showed:
Posted Image

What I got:
Posted Image

Posted Image
As you can see, the color is almost identical to my sand.. which is a black grey color. NOT metallic blue. I run a kessil so if anything it should make the colors POP. My phone actually made them look better than they actually are in person (lolz, for once). I'm fairly upset, and believe I have great reason to be ... But hoping that this was a hiccup on their part and that they'll get right on this by tomorrow.

Feel free to add comments, as I'm sure there are plenty of reefers who've dealt with PEA or plan to.

Edited by buddythelion, 03 March 2012 - 02:42 PM.

Solana 25 Mixed Reef:
Posted Image


Cheers, Darwin


#2
Fluffeh

Fluffeh

    Nano Reefer

  • Members
  • 1,894 posts
  • Joined 02 Nov 2010
Yeah that doesn't look like the same frag as in the picture

#3
Euphyllia

Euphyllia

    http://youtu.be/j7_lSP8Vc3o?t=21s

  • Members
  • 7,666 posts
  • Joined 06 Apr 2010
  • http://youtu.be/7LP4foN3Xs4?t=18s
Maybe it will color up... :D

#4
buddythelion

buddythelion

    Zoa Noob

  • Members
  • 2,896 posts
  • Joined 28 Jan 2007
  • San Jose, California

Maybe it will color up... :D

It could, but then again I'm sure it wasn't there for so long that it lost frags and dulled out =\

Solana 25 Mixed Reef:
Posted Image


Cheers, Darwin


#5
StevieT

StevieT

    ☼ StevieTree ☼

  • Premium Members
  • 29,532 posts
  • Joined 29 Jan 2007
  • Menomonee Falls, WI
What did Pacific East say about this when you contacted them via email or phone?

#9 on your first photo isn't open in the pic and a polyp in the bottom photo between 3 and 5 doesn't seem to be counted.

#6
buddythelion

buddythelion

    Zoa Noob

  • Members
  • 2,896 posts
  • Joined 28 Jan 2007
  • San Jose, California

What did Pacific East say about this when you contacted them via email or phone?

#9 on your first photo isn't open in the pic and a polyp in the bottom photo between 3 and 5 doesn't seem to be counted.


Like I said, I'm hoping for a reply by tomorrow morning. I'm not saying for everyone to avoid them, I'm just hoping for the best to come out. That's a tiny tiny tiny baby guy in the center. Good eye, but still doesn't effect what I got. The WYSIWYG pic shows no tiny baby. And the closed polyp is why I stated "max."

Edited by buddythelion, 03 March 2012 - 12:43 AM.

Solana 25 Mixed Reef:
Posted Image


Cheers, Darwin


#7
exosket

exosket

    Nano Reefer

  • Members
  • 265 posts
  • Joined 23 Jan 2010
  • Manhattan, New York
look at the first pic from pacific east- that pointed stone shape is on the frag plug next to the 'wysisyg' frag- very similar to the frag you got. maybe they gave you the one next to it?
Posted Image

#8
kgoldy

kgoldy

    Lazy Reefer

  • Members
  • 3,643 posts
  • Joined 02 Jun 2010
  • Long Island, NY

look at the first pic from pacific east- that pointed stone shape is on the frag plug next to the 'wysisyg' frag- very similar to the frag you got. maybe they gave you the one next to it?



Oooh, this^

#9
StevieT

StevieT

    ☼ StevieTree ☼

  • Premium Members
  • 29,532 posts
  • Joined 29 Jan 2007
  • Menomonee Falls, WI

Like I said, I'm hoping for a reply by tomorrow morning. I'm not saying for everyone to avoid them, I'm just hoping for the best to come out. That's a tiny tiny tiny baby guy in the center. Good eye, but still doesn't effect what I got. The WYSIWYG pic shows no tiny baby. And the closed polyp is why I stated "max."


Tomorrow is a Sunday, today is a Saturday. I would give them a week day to respond. I'm not in the coral game but would hope a customer would wait for an official response before posting about a transaction, to handle it correctly. IME corals don't look the same from pictures, but here you may have some reason because of the lack of tip color. What kelvin rating kessil do you have and what do they take their pictures under? They may also just be stressed from shipping.

#10
buddythelion

buddythelion

    Zoa Noob

  • Members
  • 2,896 posts
  • Joined 28 Jan 2007
  • San Jose, California

Tomorrow is a Sunday, today is a Saturday. I would give them a week day to respond. I'm not in the coral game but would hope a customer would wait for an official response before posting about a transaction, to handle it correctly. IME corals don't look the same from pictures, but here you may have some reason because of the lack of tip color. What kelvin rating kessil do you have and what do they take their pictures under? They may also just be stressed from shipping.


Understood Stevie, but I figured that this thread was also meant to see if others agreed that I didn't get what I ordered, and also so they could follow along on how PEA would handle it out in the end. I have the ocean blue 15000 kessil, so if it's metallic blue like the picture it should have definitely show up.

Solana 25 Mixed Reef:
Posted Image


Cheers, Darwin


#11
thewire

thewire

    MTVified

  • Members
  • 1,390 posts
  • Joined 25 Aug 2009
  • Baltimore, Murdaland
seems like a honest mistake if they sent you a wrong frag..you might get a free frag after this..looks like the frag next to you that was send to you..the tip of the rock

#12
PacificEastAquaculture

PacificEastAquaculture

    Site Sponsor

  • Sponsor
  • 1,645 posts
  • Joined 27 Aug 2008
  • Mardela Springs, Maryland
This order was received by the OP on Friday. We did do a follow up call as we do with all of our shipments, got no answer and left a message. The OP sent us an email last night after hours (10:30 pm eastern) reporting the problem, and we got back to him today as soon as we received the email and had the opportunity to look into the matter. We have offered the OP a full refund of the price paid for the frag in question.

As has been suggested, this was an honest mistake on our end. All of our website WYSIWYG livestock is tagged at our facility with the Item ID number for inventory control. We had a number of very similar frags--same original colony with +/- a polyp or two, and somewhere along the lines a couple of the ID tags on them must have been mixed up. When we pulled the order we grabbed the wrong one as a result. While we make every effort to avoid these kinds of mistakes, we are human and sometimes it happens. Our appologies to the OP for the inconvenience, and we hope you will give us another chance to serve you on a future order.

Dr. Mac's Pacific East Aquaculture

www.pacificeastaquaculture.com
877-887-5224
Alyssa@pacificeastaquaculture.com
Visit us on Facebook!


#13
jeremai

jeremai

    an island of reality in an ocean of diarrhea

  • Premium Members
  • 27,121 posts
  • Joined 08 Nov 2005
  • Las Vegas

Tomorrow is a Sunday, today is a Saturday. I would give them a week day to respond. I'm not in the coral game but would hope a customer would wait for an official response before posting about a transaction, to handle it correctly.

I agree with you stevie, but all the mr coral crap over the past couple years has made people jumpy, I think. still, OP should have waited to hear from the vendor.

oh look, problem solved. yay!

pretty sure jer was referring to the length

 
reef information and articles
photography, writing, etc.
 

#14
solefald

solefald

    Nigerian Prince

  • Members
  • 766 posts
  • Joined 16 Jan 2012
  • San Diego, CA

This order was received by the OP on Friday. We did do a follow up call as we do with all of our shipments, got no answer and left a message. The OP sent us an email last night after hours (10:30 pm eastern) reporting the problem, and we got back to him today as soon as we received the email and had the opportunity to look into the matter. We have offered the OP a full refund of the price paid for the frag in question.

As has been suggested, this was an honest mistake on our end. All of our website WYSIWYG livestock is tagged at our facility with the Item ID number for inventory control. We had a number of very similar frags--same original colony with +/- a polyp or two, and somewhere along the lines a couple of the ID tags on them must have been mixed up. When we pulled the order we grabbed the wrong one as a result. While we make every effort to avoid these kinds of mistakes, we are human and sometimes it happens. Our appologies to the OP for the inconvenience, and we hope you will give us another chance to serve you on a future order.


this here is a great example of excellent customer service! thumbs up.

#15
dickie52

dickie52

    in my own world where they know me

  • Members
  • 8,720 posts
  • Joined 01 Jun 2003
  • NY
can there be a week banning if some one crabs on here before giving a vendor a chance to make good, on a claim??????

why didn't you use the site feedback and questions forum? you ass hole.

Posted Image
 

yeah, or we'll rape you so hard the room will stink.


#16
LebaneseDlight

LebaneseDlight

    Nano Reefer

  • Members
  • 598 posts
  • Joined 15 Sep 2008
  • West Hollywood, CA

can there be a week banning if some one crabs on here before giving a vendor a chance to make good, on a claim??????


+1. Seems like the trend these days is to complain publicly and stir the pot before the vendor has a chance to respond in an effort to get free ####. BTW, the polyps themselves look like a newly acclimated, not colored up version of the wysiwyg...

I've ordered from PEA few times over the last 4 years, and find them to be one of the most reputable vendors with great selection, prices, and customer service. Starting a threat with UNHAPPY is not a "heads up, how was your experience?" - it's an attack...

#17
buddythelion

buddythelion

    Zoa Noob

  • Members
  • 2,896 posts
  • Joined 28 Jan 2007
  • San Jose, California
I think it was fair of me to be upset that I got the wrong order and missed out on an awesome coral, as anyone else would be. But I know I didn't tell everyone left and right that they're horrible and to avoid them. Like I said, hoping it was just a small hiccup, and it was. I emailed them late in the night, that's why I also stated earlier that I was going to wait for the reply in the morning. First post was more of a vent and so you guys could see what I was seeing (frag wise). But I would say I was fairly understanding. I've changed the title of the thread as well so it's not so much as an "attack."

But in the end:
Alright guys, I got the email from them today and they offered me a full refund or store credit. Pretty fast responses. I'm pretty happy with the way they dealt this so just a heads up for anyone else who's worried about this happening, there's no need to worry. PEA will take care of you and you can count me in as a future customer as well. :)

Edited by buddythelion, 03 March 2012 - 03:14 PM.

Solana 25 Mixed Reef:
Posted Image


Cheers, Darwin


#18
Euphyllia

Euphyllia

    http://youtu.be/j7_lSP8Vc3o?t=21s

  • Members
  • 7,666 posts
  • Joined 06 Apr 2010
  • http://youtu.be/7LP4foN3Xs4?t=18s

Tomorrow is a Sunday, today is a Saturday.


Thanks, Rebecca Black!

#19
kevin_f

kevin_f

    lost!

  • Members
  • 233 posts
  • Joined 12 Jul 2011
  • central nj
I can't wait to receive my order on Tuesday!

#20
justinT

justinT

    Nano Reefer

  • Members
  • 551 posts
  • Joined 29 Jun 2009
  • Detroit, MI
Their clams are the best. Well worth the $$$

#21
madfx

madfx

    Nano Reefer

  • Members
  • 266 posts
  • Joined 05 Apr 2008
  • Milwaukee WI

can there be a week banning if some one crabs on here before giving a vendor a chance to make good, on a claim??????


+1
And +3 weeks to that ban duration.

I don't understand the absolute rush to hit the forums with concerns or complaints. Especially without first waiting a day or two (over the weekend no less) for the business to response. Unbelievable.

#22
Captain Hook

Captain Hook

    Nano Reefer

  • Banned by Moderators
  • 762 posts
  • Joined 17 Feb 2011

I think it was fair of me to be upset that I got the wrong order and missed out on an awesome coral, as anyone else would be. But I know I didn't tell everyone left and right that they're horrible and to avoid them. Like I said, hoping it was just a small hiccup, and it was. I emailed them late in the night, that's why I also stated earlier that I was going to wait for the reply in the morning. First post was more of a vent and so you guys could see what I was seeing (frag wise). But I would say I was fairly understanding. I've changed the title of the thread as well so it's not so much as an "attack."

But in the end:
Alright guys, I got the email from them today and they offered me a full refund or store credit. Pretty fast responses. I'm pretty happy with the way they dealt this so just a heads up for anyone else who's worried about this happening, there's no need to worry. PEA will take care of you and you can count me in as a future customer as well. :)


Jeez what do you do when you dont get cheese on your burger at mcds? Stop making peoples jobs harder than they have to be, the supplier doesnt want to 'battle you' when all you simply have to do is mention the mix up and they probably would have given you the same offer. Give ppl a chance dude, were tryin to make the world go round not stop it from spinning.

MY 55g SPS/LPS holding cell

 

 

http://www.nano-reef...s-holding-cell/


#23
Arkayology

Arkayology

    Just call me Indy

  • Premium Members
  • 6,940 posts
  • Joined 08 Oct 2009
  • Santa Barbara, Ca
I am not sure why you feel the need to post this review of your purchase before you had the chance to resolve the issue. Maybe next time wait to see what happens before you post your experience?

boasdancepic.jpg

Archaeologists don't dig for dinosaurs


Arkayology's 40g Shallow Rimless April 2014 TOTM
60g SPS Cube
20h EssPeeEss Reef


Seller's Feedback


#24
Singlefin

Singlefin

    Nano Reefer

  • Members
  • 1,235 posts
  • Joined 12 Jul 2011
Why do people always try to get things for free? This may not be the case here, but I've read similar threads and had personal experiences where people think they can make a lot of noise to get things free. Lame.

Posted Image


Posted Image


#25
buddythelion

buddythelion

    Zoa Noob

  • Members
  • 2,896 posts
  • Joined 28 Jan 2007
  • San Jose, California
Holy crap guys, calm down. I didn't start yelling my head off left and right about how horrible they are and that they better throw free stuff in for me and I didn't ask for any compensation from the company as well. Just for them to resolve the issue and I wanted some feedback ahead of time to see if my frag was different enough so when they would reply the next day I would at least have other people backing me up that it was different as proof, just to hopefully get things resolved faster. Becky was great, still waiting on my refund, happy ending like the title says.

If you guys even bother to read what I post, I'm definitely not flaming them, but sharing what happened. I got something bad, said I'm hoping it was just a hiccup and hoped for the best. Hooray! They recognized it was an honest mistake, and I even apologized if it seemed like I was flaming them. If anything I think this thread served as a promotion to PEA, showing off their great customer service, making me look like the bad guy because I was upset that I got the wrong thing. And you know, cuz it's totally wrong of me to be upset that I got something completely different than what I expected. I thought you guys would understand being fellow reefers and all.

Also, realize that I'm not #####ing about a $10 frag from Mr Coral or complaining about getting extra cuc or even having to do the world's easiest mod for an AC. I'm just sharing an experience, asking on opinion if they're different, and then showing how PEA dealt with it (which was fantastic). No one's happy how things turned out, but would rather flame the OP for complaining on a wrong order.

Jeez what do you do when you dont get cheese on your burger at mcds? Stop making peoples jobs harder than they have to be, the supplier doesnt want to 'battle you' when all you simply have to do is mention the mix up and they probably would have given you the same offer. Give ppl a chance dude, were tryin to make the world go round not stop it from spinning.

#####ing about 25c, the difference between a McDouble from the happy meal and a Double Cheeseburger from the menu is not the same as a $42 purchase. You're making an honest complaint sound much worse than it is and I very much like PEA.

Edited by buddythelion, 05 March 2012 - 01:57 AM.

Solana 25 Mixed Reef:
Posted Image


Cheers, Darwin