Cultivated Reef

Alto's Bangaii Cardinal Breeding thread

altolamprologus

altolamprologus

Here's my pair. They are captive bred from Inland Aquatics and I acquired them November 2, 2011 at approximately 6 months old.

IMG_2651.jpg

Female on top, male on bottom

Last night I noticed them courting (vid below) and today I came home from work to a great surprise: the male has a big mouthful of eggs :)

Courting:

IMG_2682.jpg

th_MVI_2664.jpg

^ click for vid

Male holding eggs:

IMG_2696.jpg

IMG_2702.jpg

The fish are still in quarantine as their breeding tank hasn't been set up yet (but I don't think they mind :lol:)

This is my first try at raising saltwater fish, but I have successfully spawned mandarins as well. I have decapped brine shrimp eggs and live copepods ready for the babies. Can't wait fingerscrossed

edit: the vid turned out darker than I thought. You can see them best at the 50 second mark. Oh, and yes, I was watching family guy at the time

Broodstock age and size: Approximately 1 year old. Female is 2.5 inches TL and male is 2.25 inches TL

Dates of previous spawns:

12/2/11 swallowed day 3

12/25/11 swallowed day 2

01/30/12 started eating day 6, most likely swallowed on days 1 and 2

03/29/12 swallowed day 2

04/19/12 spit day 1, tumbled but declared dead next day. Most likely unfertilized.

05/09/12 swallowed day 2

06/10/12 swallowed day 3

07/10/12 swallowed day 2

08/04/12

Broodstock diet: 3-5 feedings a day of one or more of the following: PE mysis, frozen enriched brine, live enriched brine (both adult and newly hatched), nutrimar ova, live copepods, live cleaner shrimp zoea, live baby guppies

Broodstock tank: 20 gallon high with 15 pounds live rock and macro algae (chaeto, red titan and Caulerpa prolifera)

Tankmates: Longspine urchin

Edited by altolamprologus
  • Replies 171
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• altolamprologus

• smitty_1280

• Euphyllia

• yoshii