Jump to content


Photo

DIM4 Sunrise/Sunset controller for DIY LEDs by LEDGroupBuy.com


  • Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

#76
jedimasterben

jedimasterben

    LED world domination!

  • Premium Members
  • 20,326 posts
  • Joined 18 Jan 2012
  • Okeechobee, FL

Thinking of setting up new lighting for my tank using the Aquastyle 14led Dim kit. Are the drivers they supply compatible with this DIM4? Was going to use 2 kits, but only 2 drivers, 1b 1w, assuming each driver on a separate channel and then using the remaining channels to power a couple reds or turqs. Now that I think of it, do I need the dimmable kit, includes pots, or will I be able to control dimming with the DIM4?

No, the "Maxwellen" drivers are not 0-10v dimmable.

#77
duoc9119

duoc9119

    Nano Reefer

  • Members
  • 603 posts
  • Joined 21 Mar 2011
Didn't see this thread until now.

If I want to run 3 Bridgelux LEDS on each channel (total of 12) would I need a a different power supply than the 12v 5A?

Or possibly run all 4 channels at full (this case 450ma) through the lighting period, and when lights go out have one channel ramp down for moonlights?

#78
Milad LEDGroupBuy.com

Milad LEDGroupBuy.com

    LED Police

  • Sponsor
  • 2,314 posts
  • Joined 10 Jan 2011
  • St Louis

Didn't see this thread until now.

If I want to run 3 Bridgelux LEDS on each channel (total of 12) would I need a a different power supply than the 12v 5A?

Or possibly run all 4 channels at full (this case 450ma) through the lighting period, and when lights go out have one channel ramp down for moonlights?


12V 5A power supply is fine.

#79
DirtyC

DirtyC

    Nano Reefer

  • Members
  • 557 posts
  • Joined 31 Dec 2009
can the dim4 do thunder storms and clouds passing?

#80
jedimasterben

jedimasterben

    LED world domination!

  • Premium Members
  • 20,326 posts
  • Joined 18 Jan 2012
  • Okeechobee, FL

can the dim4 do thunder storms and clouds passing?

No, only dimming of entire strings. You'd need custom programming and wiring, such as with an Arduino, to be able to do that.

#81
Milad LEDGroupBuy.com

Milad LEDGroupBuy.com

    LED Police

  • Sponsor
  • 2,314 posts
  • Joined 10 Jan 2011
  • St Louis

can the dim4 do thunder storms and clouds passing?


No. The DIM4 is suppose to be a simple, plug and play, sunrise/sunset controller. No programming involved. As Jedimaster said, if you want to do thunderstorms and lighting you should look into an Ardunio. You will need to write some code to handle all the thunderstorms/clouds/etc.

#82
ThatDude

ThatDude

    Nano Reefer

  • Members
  • 119 posts
  • Joined 11 Nov 2011
I have 3 panorama pros and would like to have them connected to the dim4. If I connect each pro to a meanwell eln60-24d would I be able to control them with the dim4?

#83
jedimasterben

jedimasterben

    LED world domination!

  • Premium Members
  • 20,326 posts
  • Joined 18 Jan 2012
  • Okeechobee, FL

I have 3 panorama pros and would like to have them connected to the dim4. If I connect each pro to a meanwell eln60-24d would I be able to control them with the dim4?

Yep, just get the 24D Meanwell (or any other analog 0-10v driver that supplies the right voltage and amperage) and hook them up.

#84
lumbeejerk

lumbeejerk

    Nano Reefer

  • Members
  • 161 posts
  • Joined 13 May 2012
  • pembroke n.c

I have 3 panorama pros and would like to have them connected to the dim4. If I connect each pro to a meanwell eln60-24d would I be able to control them with the dim4?

i was thinkin bout getting the panorama pros do u like them can u grow lps and sps ?

#85
Adamdprice

Adamdprice

    Nano Reefer

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 04 Apr 2013
Hi, am I able to turn off the LCD display on my dim4 board? Thanks

#86
Milad LEDGroupBuy.com

Milad LEDGroupBuy.com

    LED Police

  • Sponsor
  • 2,314 posts
  • Joined 10 Jan 2011
  • St Louis

Hi, am I able to turn off the LCD display on my dim4 board? Thanks

No there isnt a way to do that currently

 

Most people will end up setting and forgetting the DIM4 so its usually locked away somewhere.



#87
njasmin

njasmin

    Nano Reefer

  • Members
  • 121 posts
  • Joined 13 Feb 2014
  • Orlando, Florida

I realize this thread is old so i hope there are still subscribers to it....I am new to the whole dimming/driving/controlling LED type thing. It has been noted that each channel can run only 3 3w cree LEDs in series making a total of 9w at im assuming around 700mA/each. Would I be able to run 9 - 1w LEDs at 300mA on the DIM4 without the need for a driver? If not is there a recommended driver to use for this application? Like I said, I am new to this and any help would be appreciated! I'm not even sure if 1w LEDs can even be dimmed lol


BUILDABNNER_zpseb231950.jpg


#88
jedimasterben

jedimasterben

    LED world domination!

  • Premium Members
  • 20,326 posts
  • Joined 18 Jan 2012
  • Okeechobee, FL

The DIM4 works differently than normal LED drivers. The DIM4 channels are a constant voltage (aka 'direct drive') instead of a constant current, so it provides exactly 10v per channel at 500mA. Typical '3w' LEDs use around 2.9-3.1v for the good ones, the Chinese crap usually uses 3.6-3.9v at the same currents, so they're closer to the 10v mark at 100%. LEDs don't really like to be direct driven, but it works and doesn't necessarily hurt them, but you'll have a very limited dimming range (usually they'll strike at ~2.6v each, which is ~7.8v of the 10v maximum of the DIM4).

 

As long as you as close to 10v as you can get without going over (which will hurt the LEDs) using your 1w chips, AND they can tolerate 500mA going through them, then they will work.



#89
njasmin

njasmin

    Nano Reefer

  • Members
  • 121 posts
  • Joined 13 Feb 2014
  • Orlando, Florida

The DIM4 works differently than normal LED drivers. The DIM4 channels are a constant voltage (aka 'direct drive') instead of a constant current, so it provides exactly 10v per channel at 500mA. Typical '3w' LEDs use around 2.9-3.1v for the good ones, the Chinese crap usually uses 3.6-3.9v at the same currents, so they're closer to the 10v mark at 100%. LEDs don't really like to be direct driven, but it works and doesn't necessarily hurt them, but you'll have a very limited dimming range (usually they'll strike at ~2.6v each, which is ~7.8v of the 10v maximum of the DIM4).

 

As long as you as close to 10v as you can get without going over (which will hurt the LEDs) using your 1w chips, AND they can tolerate 500mA going through them, then they will work.

Yea, I'm not even gonna try it lol sorry if that was a dumb question but a very informative response! The DIM4 is definitely a unique controller to say the least. First question was for me, next one is for a friend....I was wondering if i have a LED array with 2 channels on manual pots for dimmers, if i wanted to control the dimming features of the fixture, would it be possible to just take the +/- leads off the pot and plug it into one of the DIM4 channels? Or would the driver power input need to be the one plugged in? I am all about experimentation but on the same note i do not like to destroy equipment  lol


BUILDABNNER_zpseb231950.jpg


#90
jedimasterben

jedimasterben

    LED world domination!

  • Premium Members
  • 20,326 posts
  • Joined 18 Jan 2012
  • Okeechobee, FL

Yea, I'm not even gonna try it lol sorry if that was a dumb question but a very informative response! The DIM4 is definitely a unique controller to say the least. First question was for me, next one is for a friend....I was wondering if i have a LED array with 2 channels on manual pots for dimmers, if i wanted to control the dimming features of the fixture, would it be possible to just take the +/- leads off the pot and plug it into one of the DIM4 channels? Or would the driver power input need to be the one plugged in? I am all about experimentation but on the same note i do not like to destroy equipment  lol

The DIM4 outputs a 0-10v analog signal. If the driver's dimming circuit is compatible with analog signals, then it will work.


What brand and model driver is your friend using?



#91
njasmin

njasmin

    Nano Reefer

  • Members
  • 121 posts
  • Joined 13 Feb 2014
  • Orlando, Florida

One of the chinese 55 x 3w led full spectrum that are all over ebay. I have only had a chance to peek inside through the vents, haven't seen the drivers. I saw there is a red/black wire coming from the driver to the pot that is it. Im guessing there is really no way to tell if it is analog without opening the thing up.


BUILDABNNER_zpseb231950.jpg


#92
jedimasterben

jedimasterben

    LED world domination!

  • Premium Members
  • 20,326 posts
  • Joined 18 Jan 2012
  • Okeechobee, FL

Those are not controllable via anything but resistance or the proprietary controllers they ship with (if it even did).