ReefCleaners.org

classic 23 l fluval edge reef

classic

finally after alot of reading i got my fluval edge today.

since i am new to this and got my knowledge from some fellow reefers and due to reading this forum i will post every step in here and hopefully get some feedback from you.

so far i have the tank with stock lightning. in addition to that i got a thermometer, 25 watt heater fron aquael, aerometer, a little pump and salt.

my first step in the next few days will be to find a location to set it up fill it up and test for leaking. after that add salt and put sand and liverock the next day. liverock i was thinking for about 3 to 4 kilos cured plus 5 kilos of sand - cant decide if i should go with black or not.

i already ordered two aqua sunspots 3watt to replace the stock lightning plus a koralia nano for circulation for later on.

will post some pictures when it is setup.

cheers and thank you all for this great forum.

classic

ok this will be the location of the tank.

edge01.jpg

i already have the following:

edge02.jpg

the little pump and heater will be for mixing the salt water. as you can see the edge was not provided with the orginal aqua clear 20 hang on filter but with a elite hush 5 ... never heard about it... but will try it with that for now and use only the filter floss. also thinking about doing a canister filter maybe?

for the heater i thought about jaeger 50watt and for the pump a koralia nano.

right now deciding if i should use black or white sand... in the next of couple of days i am gonna look for some live rock... one quick question... can i already start cycling with the light provided or should i wait for the ordered lights which i will use in the end?

cheers,

classic

p.s. sorry about the pictures i will figure it out tomorrow. tried drop i/o and imageshack... both didnt work :(

Welcome and good luck with the new tank! :)

I agree that white sand would be best for this because of the light issue.