Innovative Marine Aquariums

2/9/04 - Digital Cameras & Photography

Orange Crush

ooooOOOOO, good topic! I'm tired of seeing photos posted that look like they came from National Geographic while all my photos look ghetto when it comes to the actual photo...:P

I'm also having a hard time w/ the focus on my camera. I have the new Canon SD100 3.2MP. When I zoom in to where I want it, image gets all blurry. Also, I've been told just to take the pics in 640x480 to save film disk space. Also, since the image is being resized for posting, no need to take them in 1600x1200. What is the ideal setting if one exists??

Also, what exactly is the benefit of using Macro? Also, what is ISO speed? ALSOOOO.....(just kidding!):P

I'm far from an expert but i've found a few tricks that have helped out dramatically.

First of all... white balance is VERY important. If you can stick a piece of PVC in your tank and use that to measure your white balance, it will help with coloration.

Second, a tripod and a remote that allows you to start taking pictures without physically touching the camera helps a lot with those blurry pics.

Third, rather than taking single shots, setting your camera on a continuous mode has worked out great for me. Last night I took around 250 pictures in this mode and came back with about 22 really nice pics that stood out from the rest.

I would also adjust the quality as high as possible. My camera allows up to 2048x1800 something. Nothing below 1024x768! You can always zoom and crop out the focal point of the image to reduce file size.

I'm hoping to see some other great tips because i'm really a n00b when it comes to this stuff. :D

I second the comment about white balance. It made a world of difference for me.

Unfortunately, it still was not enough to make for good photos from my Nikon Coolpix 2000. Thank god Nikon has the best macro mode around, as it's the only thing that saves that camera from being toss IN the aquarium.

Kracker: