inTank Media Baskets

Smitty's Pico Ato Guide.

SmittyCoco

I know there are a few threads about this, but this is mine Per request (SeaMonkeyz13). :D

I have been running a picotope for 18+ months. I have had my ups and downs,but one thing that has been rock solid is my diy ato. I built it a little over a year ago. So with the introduction out of the way here it goes.

I wanted something cheap and reliable. I had read several threads about diy atos and this is what I came up with.

I used a simple aqualifter($12.99 lfs) with a prefilter (1.99 lfs).

104_2989.jpg

I used a 2 gallon bucket found at Osh (Orchard Supply Hardware). It was 1.99 and .99 for the lid. The water supply lasts me 2 weeks +. I also Have a sunpod 70 over my pico. :) As you can see in the pic . I drilled two holes in the lid. One for ventilation. The other to draw water from. I used 2 rubber grommets(.39) found in the loose hardware section. And 2 plastic nipples(.69) 1 to attach the hose the other is just the vent.

104_2992.jpg

The inside consists of a 1 inch piece of the vinyl tubing attached to the nipple. And a rigid line inside that. Make sure the ridgid tube goes ALL the way to the bottom. Make full use of the bucket ! ;)

104_2988.jpg

I simply took an extesion cord( $1.00 from the dollar store ) and cut one side to sauter the float switch in. I put electrical wire shrinkers over the wires before the sautering took place. Instead of electrical tape I just shrunk it over the exposed sautered wires to protect the area.

104_2981.jpg

As for My Float switch I ordered from Chicago sensor. Thanks for the tip Aaron (elFabuloso). For a snail gaurd I cut a tube in half of aquamend. I drilleded holes in the bottom sides . And 2 in the lid. One to fit the float switch and one to vent the chamber. I have collected a ton of plastic clips from various displays at your local walmart and such. I know someone who works there. Not stolen ! :P

104_2976.jpg

104_2982.jpg