inTank Media Baskets

MikeTR's BC14...

MikeTR

So I'm fairly new at the hobby but have always had an interest. My brother has had many a tank running for years so that's where I got the itch. I got the opportunity in January to pick up a BC14 from a friend who needed the money, $100 plus a subwoofer which I valued at about $150. He got the better end of the bargain, but he needed the money and I knew he would give me frags for retarded cheap so I went with it. I had quite a battle with what I originally thought was a pH issue (mainly because my friend said it was)..for the first couple months I did everything humanly possible (except aerate the water outside..doh!) to try and get the pH to even stay above 8.0. I've since given up :) and it runs at 7.7-7.9.. has been for months and looks great!

I've been on the forum for a few months and it's time to put up some photos. I actually picked up a new P&S camera and got to take some shots with it. Still don't know if I like the camera.. but here's the pics anyways.

FTS 07/22/2009

post-44828-1248444895_thumb.jpg

Clownin Around

post-44828-1248445113_thumb.jpg

Eagle Eye Zoas

post-44828-1248445138_thumb.jpg

Candy Cane 'n Stuff

post-44828-1248445145_thumb.jpg

• Replies 106
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Notice the German blues on the sandbed.. with growth? :) They're hiding behind the isolated GSP. It is possible to grow some SPS with the BC stock lighting. Wanting to give some green birdsnest a try, but I'll probably put that up higher.. Before I do I want to put a little bit more flow in the tank. Looking for a smaller powerhead like a Catalina Mini to create a bit of turbulence. It's mostly softies in here so I haven't wanted to blast anything with a Koralia. Also just picked up a JBJ ATO and Aqualifter that I'll be installing this weekend.

Livestock includes:

Orange and Blue FL Rics (splitting!)

Red,Purple, Green Striped Mushrooms

GSP

Frag of Blastomussa (hiding behind GSP) has grown 5 new heads!!

Candy Cane