inTank Media Baskets

My First (2) Marine Tank(s)

creacom

I have always liked fish and have had aquariums from time to time with tropical fish, but never a salt-water tank. After I discovered Nano-Reefs, I really liked the idea of a self-contained, simple marine tank. I have been reading on this and other threads and setting up some tanks since December of 2008 and am starting this thread to get feedback and suggestions and to (eventually) help others who have the same questions I have.

I am new at this and expect to make mistakes. Feel free to comment/correct.

Equipment and Modifications

I purchased two JBJ Nano-cubes, 12 gallons each. They are the older "G" model I think. They just have one 24W lamp in the hoods which I have read is not nearly enough. I set the tanks up with "live sand" and a bit of "live rock" (both of which I doubt were truely "live") and left it running for months while I researched and considered what I would do.

After a few months, and when I finally had a moment, I emptied the tanks and made the following modifications:

Filtration:

The first thing that had to be fixed was the filtration. I could not get the water to look clean enough. My water comes from my CoraLife RO/DI system with 0ppm TDS. I add the Red Sea Pro salt (I heard there was a difference), and experimented with maintaining the water level and salinity as well as testing for NH3, NO2, and NO3. All was well, but the water still looked dirty to me.