Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Why do my snails die?

stingythingy45

stingythingy45

Hello everyone

I'm a real newbie,just set up a 20 gal. long that I had kicking around for years from my freshwater days.Actually the tank has been set up now for close to 2 months.I cycled using a cocktail shrimp and watched it finish after two weeks with my trusty test kit.At first this was just a,"Hey lets see if I can keep some saltwater fish alive".Now after close to $500 into the system i'm rather hooked.lol

Anyway,i recently just went through a diatom explosion.Now I believe i'm into a green hair algae kind of thing.My question is why do all my astrea snails die after about a week?I take the time to add water from the tank to the bag slowly before putting them in the main tank.I know(have read) that snails need a while to adjust.Before they die that get really lathargic and hardly move.

20 gallon long(65 watt Current USA lights and CPR Bakpak 2 skimmer)

0 am.

0 nitrite

20 nitrate

ph 8.4

SG. 1.024

400 calcium

78 temp.

Fish and Inverts

1 blue devil Damsal

1 yellow tail Damsal

3 blue legged crabs

1 zebra crab

1 scarlet crab

I had my water parameters checked from the LFS and they matched my test.

Even though I use a hydrometer the SG matched on a refractor.

Is it possible for diatom death to poison snails?

Any help would be great.

i know you say you have other inverts but maybe the water you use for topoff has some copper in it? have you had that tested? maybe the snails are just more sensitive to copper than your crabs and theyre kicking the bucket because of low levels being present. Also check your temperature fluctuation (i.e. write it down before your lights go on and write it down when your lights have been on all day) and if there is more than 2 degrees fluctuation this might be a problem as well.

stingythingy45

Thanks....

So far i've been using tap water that is town water supply.