Top Shelf Aquatics

[Stock] Tightrope

Tightrope

Introduction

"They all said I was sick in the head. They said I needed help. Well, maybe I am a bit batty. Blame it on the bats in my belfry." - The Joker

I have never done a saltwater tank before. I have been keeping freshwater since I was a child (with a several year hiatus), and Tropheus and other Tanganyikan cichlids since the start of this year. This will be my very first saltwater tank, and it's going to be a reef. Nothing like jumping right into the ocean to see if you can swim!

The concept for this tank is to feature only purple and green corals. It will be an exercise in color choice of livestock, as well as texture and placement. Too many eye-blinding corals will make the tank unpleasant to look at. Not enough, and it'll be boring. I could have started simply, but oh no, I had to go for High Concept Art.

Livestock will be chosen to contrast the corals. Some livestock will be chosen for function, such as a cleaner shrimp. Those just don't come in different colors.

Tank

Standard glass 10g tank

Lighting

20" 1x40w Current USA Satellite PC

Filtration and Circulation

AquaClear 50 HOB filter (200 gph)

AquaClear 30 Powerhead (175 gph)

Heating

Visi-Therm Stealth 50w heater

Miscellaneous

15 lbs cured live rock

Tahitian Moon Sand

Water from LFS

Obsessive worrying

Entry Photo

EntryShot.jpg

November

November 9, 2006

fts110906.jpg

Somewhere in the Nov. 20 region, 2006

fts112006.jpg

November 30, 2006

fts113006.jpg

saw your idea for this tank in your other thread..... and ill be sure to be following along.. too bad you dont have any corals to trade, cause I have the PERFECT echino coral for you that would fit perfectly in this purple and green tank ;)

Awesome idea! This will be a thread that I WILL be following along. There are a lot of corals these colors. I have a neon green/pink tipped frogspawn (check my avatar). So there are plenty options!

GL in the contest

texx