Innovative Marine Aquariums

ideas to remove crazy glue from acrylic

riotj

Any solvent that'd remove cyanoacrylate (krazyglue), such as acetone, will also be a solvent for acrylic, meaning that you risk crazing the acrylic if you use it.

I like the polishing idea, so long as there isn't too much krazyglue. If there is, you may be polishing a long time before you remove all traces of it.

• 3 weeks later...
jayjay1976

I've never tried this on an acrylic tank, but......

I am an avid model airplane builder/flyer and I have worked with a lot of cyanoacrylate (crazy) glues over the years, and when I need to remove it from a plastic surface, the technique I use to remove the glue with minimal damage to the underlying surface is called "adzing", whereby you take a straight edge razor blade, hold it almost perpendicular to the surface, then with moderate pressure drag it across the acrylic surface. The closer to 90 degrees you hold it the more effective it is at removing a very thin layer of material. The sharp edge does not scratch the surface much, but the razor thin edge concentrates your force in a narrow area and does a great job of scraping off the glue and leveling the area. This will haze the acrylic where you scrape, but the scratches produced will be extremely fine and will polish out easily. The important thing is to bring the glue level down absolutely flush and try very hard not to allow the blade to dig into the surface. Its actually fairly easy. SLIGHTLY ROUND THE CORNERS OF THE BLADE TO PREVENT THEM DIGGING IN TO THE SURFACE!!

By the way, cured cyanoacrylate (CA) glue is chemically identical to acrylic. My understanding of the way they work is that it is a mixture of two parts; the liquid acrylic and a powerful reagent that causes instant polymerization. The two are prevented from reacting by the inclusion of an acid, which when maintained in a balanced concentration prevents the chemical reaction from occurring.