Top Shelf Aquatics

Check my 1st quarantine/hospital tank plan?

acronce

Hi all,

I'm setting up a hospital tank to deal with an early stage ich problem. Baring issues feeding my Rainford's goby (for which I started another thread earlier today) I'm finalizing the plan to set up the QT and move forward with treatment. I've researched on this site and elsewhere, and I *think* I know what to do. But since I've never done it before, it would be nice to run the plan past this group to see if I'm missing anything.

For the tank, I picked up a 10 gallon Marineland LED aquarium kit. I went for this kit because it was pretty cheap ($70) and had almost everything I need, including a HOB power filter, heater, and cover. It was about the same price as if I tried to piece together a barebones from scratch. The LED is probably useless for anything other than basic illumination, but this is just going to be a QT tank anyway.

I added in a cheap air pump, check valve, and air stone to help increase oxygen while medicating.

For medication, I picked up some Cupramine. I also got some Seachem Garlic Guard to help keep appetites high. I was more interested in Kent Garlic Extreme (because people on this forum seem to like it), but they didn't have it at my LFS and I wanted to get all the materials together quickly.

I've verified that the to-be QT tank does not leak, rinsing it out at the same time.

So here's the basic plan:

* Pull 5 gallons out of my BC29 and put it into the new QT tank, filling the rest with newly made seawater.

* Take the current, dirty filter floss from my BC29 media rack and stick it in the HOB, without putting in the usual HOB's carbon filter. I just did a water change yesterday, so the filter floss is not that dirty, but hopefully it will be enough.

* Put in some PVC pipe for the fish to hide in.

* Turn on the heater and HOB and get the temp to match my BC29 as closely as possible.

* Turn on the air pump.