Innovative Marine Aquariums

Gerbil's 15g Indo-Pacific Reef

gerbilbox

Full Tank Shot: May 17, 2011, now six months old

IMGP2604.jpg

I've never owned an aquarium before, although 10 years ago a friend's goldfish died under my care. My educational background is in evolution, ecology, and biodiversity, and I volunteer as a docent at a local science museum & aquarium. I either know or am capable of understanding a lot about marine biology, especially marine invertebrates, but I have ZERO husbandry experience. I enter this hobby knowing that things can go wrong and everything can die because of me, but whatever happens I will do my best to learn and still have fun with it :)

Thumbnail below links to my first YouTube video of my new ocellaris clownfish and my huge new hammer coral:

2.jpg

Corals

Grape coral (Euphyllia cristata)

Hammer coral (Euphyllia ancora or parancora)

"Fat hammer," might just be a "regular" hammer but seems a little unusual

Frogspawn (Euphyllia divisa or paradivisa)

Bright green trumpet coral (Caulastrea spp.)

Orange plate coral (Fungia spp.)

Acan (Acanthastrea spp.)

Hair mushroom (Rhodactis spp.)

Zoas, both Zoanthus and Palythoa spp.

Other Invertebrates

3 Trochus snails

7 Sandbed clams (Tapes), buried

Dwarf zebra hermit crabs (Calcinus laevimanus)

Amphipods (Grammarus)

Isopods

Bristle worms

Medusa worms (Family Cirratulidae)

Various little feather duster worms

Little bristle stars

One or two tiny Asterina starfish

Fish

Ocellaris clownfish, captive-bred from Sustainable Aquatics

One unknown red algae. I'm in contact with someone who may be able to ID it.

Tank Specs

Tank: 15g AGA, glass cover, 15 lbs. Marco Rock seeded with a few small pieces live rock, 15 lbs. Caribsea Fiji Pink sand.

Lighting: AquaticLife 2x24w T5HO, ATI Aquablue Special and Blue Plus