Boxfish for a Nano Tank Poll

Crazy Tiki

Boxfish for a Nano Tank  

27 members have voted

1. 1. Would you recommend a Boxfish for a Nano Tank <24 gallons

• YES
    • NO

Hey Guys,

I was at the LFS store over the weekend and my wife picked out a Boxfish, as it was cute and interesting to watch. Now the LFS store we go to knows that I am a beginner and have only had my tank for 5 weeks. We already had a chromis, 2 clown fish, a scooter, a cleaner shrimp, and a basic cuc. This trusted fish store told me that she sells them all the time and that they are easy to maintain and that they do not require anything special. She did passively say that they where poisonous and that if the boxfish died just to take it out.

So it seemed to me that this was doable. So on Saturday we acclimated him in and he seemed to be doing okay. He looked a little annoyed as the cleaner shrimp was very interested in him at first. But he seemed okay. I did noticed that when I feed the fish that saturday afternoon and sunday that he wasn't eating, but he still looked okay as he was floating around the whole tank.

I went to work on Monday I decided to do a little search here on the boxfish and got immediately alarmed as everyone says to not keep a boxfish in a tank less than 125 gallons, that they require expert care, and that they will nuke my tank. So I actually was kind of freaked and started to think about brining the fish back to the store....

When I got home I found the boxfish, chromis and scooter dead. My two clowns where acting lathargic and gasping for air. I immediately took out the dead fish and did a 2.5 gallon water change, I own a BC14, and the clowns started to act normal. I have some corals (Frogspawn, zoas, mushrooms) but they where not phased by the toxin.