Top Shelf Aquatics

LED Dual Retro - BioCube29 & Custom 3.5g AIO Acrylic

C Jerome

I have been thinking for a while about my options for upgrading the lighting on my two nano-reefs. A few weeks ago I saw SoundWave’s pre-post regarding the LED DIY he put together and have followed the subsequent write-up and discussion on RC. I thought wow, half of that setup would be nice on my nano! This led me to further research on NR.com where I found lots of great posts and information regarding LED lighting that I missed somehow over the past months. Reading though most of the full build threads has given me a good idea of what I want to build and how to do it (thanks for the inspiration!). I am relatively capable DIY’er with a variety of experiences, though I am not an LED expert so I am sure I will seek guidance through the project from those more knowledgeable on the subject.

The basic plan is to build two separate lighting systems, one for each of my tanks, at the same time for a little economy of scale:

BioCube29 (which I just purchased used, once I have the LEDs in I will set up and transfer everything from my BC14 to this tank) The array will be 4 rows of 6 columns 50/50 white/blue in a simple alternating pattern. I plan to add some SPS and maybe a clam so I should add a UV or two, I will run these off a separate driver so I can run both the others at 1000mA. I also plan to put two or three LEDs run off a separate driver and power supply over the rear center area as a fuge light. The power supplies and project box with the bucks and dimmers will be in the stand with wire running down from the hood.