Cultivated Reef

Eclipse Corner 5 Gallon - No More.

Dadoboy

Hello!

I thought I would give this eclipse 5 gallon tank a chance to be my first Nano-Tank. Please be aware I am new to this - but have done, and still doing, a lot of research, buttcha never know what you will encounter in this hobby. As you Nano Reefs people have helped me learn and appreciate what a great hobby this is, I in turn (with your help) will help others learn from me. Thank you all in advance.

What I have learned so far - is that patience is a mo/fo...

This is the story of the past week - pretty much as it happened..

I bought the tank on Sunday - cleaned it filled it with water to test it. I took the tank into work on Monday. and set it up. I placed egg-crate cut to the shape of the tank, and placed on bottom of tank and placed the LR on top and filled it with saltwater, and placing the RIO 50 powerhead. The water is RO that I got at my local Publix (grocery store).

BTW - The egg crate can be found at Lowes in the lighting section, next to the plastic sheets they use to cover florescent bulbs. I assume Home Depot are in the same place.

I then mixed the live sand w/ some of the rinsed moon sand put live rock, and am waiting.

That's pretty much it. This forum is a great way to find information on DYI, and identifying things, as well as much more stuff, and I love it!

I will appreciate any advise, comments, and suggestions.

Finally -

I do have a question... I noticed that when I placed my rio power head against the wall of the tank, it seemed like my tank amplified the hum of it. If I put it in the middle of the tank.. nice and quiet.. Any suggestions? I think I need it on the wall on the tank, right?

Thanks again to everybody who has (and will) help.

Dave A.

(edit to shorten it a little)

These were taken while I was waiting on my moon sand.

FTSatwork.jpg

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Ok - Quick update.

Copepods! Woo Hoo!