Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Josh's 20L mostly SPS mixed reef

SPS20

Hello everyone. I have been reading the forums here for some time now and I finally decided to join and post my reef here. I have been reefkeeping for about 15 years now but, due to space constraints (small house) I only have a single nano-reef now. In the past, I have kept a 120, 40B, 29, 40L, along with numerous 10 and 20g reef aquariums. This hobby is a continuing source of fascination for me; I never tire of staring at my critters.

Unfortunately, I can't post build photos: I have none, as the tank has been set for about 6 months.

The tank is a 20L (30"x12"x12") standard glass aquarium. Following is the basic breakdown:

NOTE: This post edited regularly to reflect current stocking and equipment.

Equipment:

Aquarium, Stand and Sump

- 20L Perfecto Aquarium (30" Long x 12" Wide x 12" Tall), black trim

- 30" X 12" Black Pine Stand

- Salvaged 15 gallon acrylic sump

- Generic siphon-based acrylic overflow

Lighting

- 2 Coralife Aqualight Pro 150W HQI Pendants with Phoenix 14k bulbs, on 12 hours per day.

Automation & Control

- 100W Submersible controlled Aquacontroller, in sump

- Current USA 1/15 HP inline chiller, fed by a maxi-jet 1200

- Spectrapure Litermeter III dosing pump, with one external channel, used to add Bionic 2-part Ca/Buffer system

- Tunze Osmolator ATO, with 7 gallon RO/DI reservoir

- Neptune Aquacontroller III with DC8, controlling all timers, pumps, 100W heater, and logging pH/ORP/Temp for peace of mind.

Filtration

- ASM Mini-G Protein Skimmer, in sump

- CPR Aquafuge Medium HOB Refugium with 18W Jalli Light, using 6500K Bulb. Refugium light is on when tank lights are off. There is some truly neat stuff growing in there. Refugia are cool.