SaltCritters.com

Circusordie16's Custom 5 Gallon

circusordie16

circusordie16

Alright everbody, im bored at work so im making a thread on this tank that is in the construction phase. im a college student so i have to stick to pico tanks for easy moving but ive found that i want more room than my little 2.5 gallon. also, ive been wanting to experiment more with propagation and fragging. so im going with a 24" long custom tank that ill either build or have somebody build for me. the dimensions are going to be somehwere around 24" x 8" x 7" (lwh). ive got a 2 x24w t5 retrofit that im building a canopy for as we speak and im planning on running 2 ac20 filters because i already have them.

so my plan for the tank itself is to take the contents of my 2.5 gallon and move them to the new tank in exactly the same aquascape. then ill expand on that display a little so that the aquascape takes up about 16" of the tank. then on the other half im thinking ill just have some chaeto, the heater and some sort of eggcrate rack. this will be a sort of mini frag half-tank. that way i can frag some stuff without disturbing the corals attached to the live rock and i can keep a wider variety of corals in a much smaller space than if i was mounting them on live rock.

ill be making the final cuts for the wood hood tonight and then i just have to paint and assemble it. pictures will be coming and any ideas or comments would be great!

• Replies 106
  • Created
  • Last Reply
circusordie16

went to the lfs yesterday to see about having them make my tank. they said itd be $135 so i said thats no good. looks like ill be headed to a local glass store i saw driving to work today to see if they will cut me some glass rectangles for less than $135. other than that ill start glueing the hood today (most likely) so ill try to put up some pictures.