Innovative Marine Aquariums

Powering 1 3w Cree led for a fuge light

chucktdbm321

chucktdbm321

Done it before with cheap moon lighting and was wondering if there is more too it with these high powered leds ? I have many different converters from output of 2v to 12v. I was thinking of using a 5v 550ma old cellphone charger. This is my first time using highpower leds so bare with me

the LED needs 1-1.5A to run at full power while that supply is only rated for 550ma. got anything bigger?

you also probably need to add a series resistor depending on which supply you use.

Don't need to run a 3w LED at full power to keep a fuge alive though. I am about to run 3 of the Cree XP-G cool-white LED's at 350mA each for my fuge.

chucktdbm321

hmm well i have a 12v that runs at 1.25A and then a 9v that runs at 800A... Shows the little i know about LEDs. I always thought you would want to match the wattage rather then the ma. Thanks for replying fast. I was trying to keep this as simple as possible so i'd like to stay away from resistors and all that if i can

yeh but 3 XP-Gs at 350ma is about the same amount of light as a single XP-G at 1500ma. no reason not to run them higher if you can.

chucktdbm321

That was a point i was gonna make as well its only gonna be like 2 inches from the water and like another inch away from some macro... But please inform more lol. So you think i should use one of the other ones? My first thought is it is 1 3w and running at 12v or 9v would be a little much? But as im typing this volts and watts are differnt lol

hmm well i have a 12v that runs at 1.25A and then a 9v that runs at 800A... Shows the little i know about LEDs. I always thought you would want to match the wattage rather then the ma. Thanks for replying fast. I was trying to keep this as simple as possible so i'd like to stay away from resistors and all that if i can