Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Question regarding the name of Canon's XSi
Nano-Reef.com Forums > Miscellaneous > Photography Discussion

juniormmm
So after doing a bit of research I've found some websites selling a XSi 450D where there is a little "450D" emblem on the camera, and then I've found sites selling the XSi where there is a little "Rebel XSi" emblem in the same spot. So are these 2 camera's the exact same or is one an older version than the other. Many sites interchange the names XSi and 450D. I've found a site that sells what they claim is the 450D for MUCH less than any site I've found the non 450D XSi. If they are different, am I right in assuming that the 450D labeled XSi is the older model. Any help with this would be great. Thank you
Jacobnano
I am pretty sure they are the same. In america we call them XSis and everywhere else its 450D.

Like my T1i, its 500D everywhere else.
uwwmatt
QUOTE (Jacobnano @ Oct 22 2009, 01:13 AM) *
I am pretty sure they are the same. In america we call them XSis and everywhere else its 450D.

Like my T1i, its 500D everywhere else.


+1
Lalani
Each rebel has different names for different regions.. three actually. One name for the U.S., one for Japan, and one for everyone else. In Japan, the XSi/450D is called the Canon EOS Kiss Digital x2.
rottface4
Just be careful buying cameras online. With a pic showning 450 instead of XSi you maybe get an overseas camera and not have any US warranty, or it maybe a bait-n-switch site, especially if its much cheaper than else where.
summers.enemy
I wonder if the ones labeled 450D appear cheaper because they could be showing the price in euros or pounds?
juniormmm
Good to know all. Thanks very much. Here is the site that had it the cheapest and sold it as the 450D XSi:
http://tachynon.com/index.php?main_page=pr...d705fbf70a8ae4c

It has the picture of the "Rebel XSi" version. I was originally waiting for Black Friday, but I really don't like shopping and I'm not sure what kind of Black Friday sales most websites would have. So when I saw this price I was very eager to learn if it was the actual camera that I wanted.
summers.enemy
We need to have a sticky in this forum about online camera sales that appear too good to be true.

I would definitely not order from that site if I were you. Check out reseller ratings: http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Tachynon Note that not only do they only have 3 positive reviews, all of those positive reviews were made on the same day. This is a huge red flag. There's tons upon tons of sites out there that will put cameras up for super cheap prices and then proceed to scam the crap out of you when you place your order. Do yourself a favor and order from somewhere reputable. Amazon, Newegg, Adorama, B&H etc.

Edit to say that I just looked for the XSI with 18-55 on Amazon, it's priced at just $608 with free shipping. AND they're not going to scam you. Only $118 more for peace of mind, and knowledge that you will have a full USA warranty.
juniormmm
Thank you for the heads up!! biggrin.gif

I guess I'll just wait till Black Friday and see what kind of prices I can get. If nothing major then I'll probably get it from Amazon or Craigslist.
VicSkimmr
www.photography-on-the.net

Check their classified ads, it'll be much more reliable than Craigslist. For me personally, if I buy new, I typically buy from Amazon. If I buy used, it's from POTN.

This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2010 Invision Power Services, Inc. | Copyright © 2001-2008 Nano-Reef.com