Pod Your Reef

SaltyVT's 8 gallon Biocube

SaltyVT

Just noticed this forum!!! 8 gallon bio cube, 5lbs of LR, 17 lbs of LS, 4 hermits, 1 coral banded shrimp, 2 turbo snails, one clown named Sushi!! Next step is to rid the tank of bio balls and replace with LR and mess around with the other stock internals soon. going to add corals soon!! Any other suggestions welcomed!!!

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

• Replies 264
  • Created
  • Last Reply

howdy fellow Vt person ;)

i would ditch the sponge completely and upgrade fans to higher rpm fans

maybe look in to setting up a cheato slot in the back

I'm a noob, but I understood that a hungry coral banded shrimp would rip into softies looking for food. Are you planning to target feed him?

I could be (and often are) completely wrong!

They look so cool I would love to have one though.

Looking good so far, and welcome to Nano-Reef. Wow I am from Vt as well, but never heard of Dubsnorth. Is that the land of volkswagens?? Anyway, back to topic.

These Biocubes are great! The bioballs are great for cat toys, but that's about it. Enraged... did you upgrade your fans? I noticed another fan connector on the little circuit board. Has anyone tried to add another fan for perhaps cooling the water surface? The cube seems to cool well when the lights are on, but heats up right after the main lights and fans shut off. (no hijack intended)

SaltyVT... you might want to upgrade the stock pump or place another microjet in the tank for better flow. At least that is what my LFS said to do. Good Luck!!

Yea i never heard of dusbnorth either lol!

I actually have an Aquapod 12 that i drillthe the stock ventalation out to increase circulation but thats about it thus far. As mine is at work in a climate controled office i havent had to get crazy on it yet. gotta admit those catalina gobys are looking pretty cool these days tho so i might have see if i can crank the heat down for one of those.