inTank Media Baskets

DIY Automatic Restart Timer for 120V Devices

smarcus3

3 members have voted

1. 1. Is this something that would help you?

• Yes
    • No
  2. 2. Is this a good walkthrough, please post suggestions / comments

• Yes
    • No
  3. 3. Would you condsider buying this from me if I made it available

• Yes
    • No

Have you ever wanted to restart your protein skimmer after feeding after a certain amount of time has passed or some other task.

I have and have gotten tired of trying to remember to restart the skimmer after feeding so I thought I would automate the process.

************** I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY INJURY, LOSS OF PROPERTY, OR DEATH DUE TO ELECTRICITY OR ANYTHING ELSE. I AM NOT A PROFESSIONAL. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK ***********************

First things are needed are:

• 3 prog extension cord
  • electrical box
  • timer switch
  • wire nuts
  • ELECTRICAL KNOWLEDGE

Extension Cord

122711-1.jpg

Timer

122711-2.jpg

Next, you need to cut the cord in half and strip back the outer insulation. Be sure not to nick any of the wires by accident. Then strip each wire. The white and green wires will be reconnected back to themselves while the black wire will run through the switch. The black wire is the hot wire and therefore switched to increase safety. This picture shows the wires after this step is completed.

122711-3.jpg

Close up of the wires.

122711-4.jpg

The wires need to then be run through the electrical box. If you don't do this step before you connect the switch to the wires you cannot get the wires into the box.

122711-5.jpg

The knob of the switch should pull straight off which should show a nut. This holds the face plate to the switch. The picture below shows all the pieces of the switch.

122711-6.jpg