ReefCleaners.org

HighEndOfTheLow's Mandarin Cube

HighEndOfTheLow

HighEndOfTheLow

Hi everyone.

Firstly welcome to my tank thread!

So, let me (Liz) tell you a bit about myself.

I am a Physics and Biology Student at University with plans to become a Medical Physicist.I have been interested in conservation since I was a little girl, with a keen interest in moths, birds and fish. I had the typical goldfish in a plastic tank.

The year before I started University I worked with Loggerhead Turtles Caretta caretta in Greece for a month. It was an amazing experience with memories that will never be forgotten. At the end of my First Year me and Luke met through our university course field trip. I will always remember him knee deep in water with a hermit crab in his hand whilst we were all rock pooling.

He is the reason I got into reef keeping.

My current setup:

30L mixed Reef set up, 1' cube

1x Azoo 1000 Hang on Back Filter (Containing Cheatomorphia)

1x Azoo 125 Hang on back Filter (Containg Bag of RowaPhos and KZ active carbon)

1x 100W Heater

1x Tunze Univerisal Mini Pump 5024.040

1x Genuine Evilc66 PAR38 12K LED Bulb

1x DIY 3 Cree Royal Blues and Heatsink moonlight

5kg Live Rock

Stocklist

5x Zoa Morph colonies

2x Paly Morph frags (including Red People eaters)

1x Small Toadstool Leather

1x Kenya Bush Coral

1x Red Montipora capricornis

Various mushrooms

1x Pink Spotted Mandarin (Synchriopus picturatus)

1x Gold Banded Possum Wrasse (Wetmorella nigropinnata)

1x Halloween Hermit Crab

2x Turbo Snails (one is a True Mexican Turbo)

The tank has been set up since february 2011.

I am fully aware of the fact some people may not agree with the mandarin being in a tank so small. That is your opinion but personally I am having good success. The mandarin (male) has been in since 17th May 2011.