Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Mr. Aqua cube Sump Fuge. Advice please!

Mr. Microscope

Mr. Microscope

Hello All,

I\'m about to build my sump fuge thing. \'Planning to use acrylic for the dividers/baffles etc. I bought a Mr. Aqua 12 inch cube to go under my Mr. Aqua 25 gallon DT. Yes, I understand this is a bit small, but no other standard tank sizes will fit in the stand. I have no experience with sump design. I think I\'ve about got it here, but maybe I\'m way off. I calculated the total volume while running to be about 3.5 gallons or less. That gives me about 4 spare gallons in case my overflow leaks and I lose 3 inches of water in the DT.

Thanks in advance for any advice, critique, or comments!

Here it is. Tear it up!

Sump02SideB01.jpg

Sump02SideC01.jpg

Sump02SideA01.jpg

Looks alright to me.

The one concern I might have is water taking the path of least resistance through the fuge and just flowing along the surface and into the skimmer chamber. Do you have plans to address this with a pump or anything?

Because the fuge is so small, and depending on your return pump's flow rate, it may not be an issue...

One other remedy might be to put a small baffle at the water surface through the middle of the fuge chamber just to force the water down.

Edit-

I personally would build it as is, and just leave the option open (have the materials cut and ready) to add the extra baffle after your first wet test.

Put your return pump in the return chamber with a hose to the drain chamber, and squirt something into the water to see what the flow looks like.

+1 to KG. The design looks good, but you may want to consider some way to "mix up" the water in the fuge section a little. Also, you could probably save some space by reducing the # of baffles. You could instead make it like this:

I I

I I I

I I I I I

I I I I I

I I I I I

I I I I I

I____I_____I_________________I