Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Noobs 10 gal nano

nano noob

Hello everyone!

This is my first saltwater tank but I have been keeping aquariums for almost 10 years now. Right now I have a 20 gal high low tech planted (might turn into high tech) and a 55 gal discus only with driftwood (once grown out I will add plants, etc). So I am not entirely new at keeping aquariums but have to say that saltwater is definitely keeping me on my toes :)

This 10 gal used to be a high tech planted tank until I tore it down and decided months later to turn it into saltwater, so I already had the tank, light fixture, heater, and filter. For now I will keep everything that I have and then when I decide to get corals, etc I will most likely upgrade my light fixture and turn the AC30 into a small refugium with just chaeto?

Tank Specs:

20"-24" 36w power compact fixture with 50/50 bulb

Hydor 100w heater Ebo Jager 50w

2x 1x Koralia nano 240 GPH

AquaClear 30 w/foam and bio max filter floss (cleaned couple times a week)

13 pounds of Fiji cured live rock

CaribSea Arag-Alive live sand (about 1" deep)

Tank is at the three week mark right now. First day I added 11 pounds of LR and the LS, a wek later I added another two pounds of LR and rearranged the tank to give it more caves and crevices.

The LR I got from my LFS and it came with a blue leg hermit crab, a bunch of feather dusters, Stomatellas, sponges, and some Asteriniid stars, and I am sure a bunch of other stuff :)

Yesterday I went to my LFS and picked up a red leg hermit crab and three Nassarius snails. Was looking to get more but the LFS was out of Cerith and Nerites :(

Here are some pics I took yesterday. Enjoy! :)

FTS!

6179517044_7f8620c95b_z.jpg

Nano Reef FTS (week 3) by Bradley Costa, on Flickr

Blue leg hermit!

6178991561_f3cbbfd238_z.jpg

Blue leg hermit crab by Bradley Costa, on Flickr

Red leg hermit

6179516806_0503ca4e8e_z.jpg

Red leg hermit crab by Bradley Costa, on Flickr