Coral Vue Hydros

Bonsai Inspired Bommie Reef

divecj5

Chucktown Bommie Reef

Background

I've been reefing for close to 6 years now and have been a pretty active member around here for the last few. I started with a 55g softie reef back in 2005 and was really happy with my first foray into reef-keeping. After keeping it for a little over a year, I randomly heard about nanos and have been hooked ever since (kept a BC29, then a 20H SPS, and now the 17g). The overall goal for this tank started as a "a simplistic yet colorful mixed reef; including some select SPS, top-notch Euphyllia and Acans, and hopefully some Zoanthids and Palys."

As you can see from my sig, this tank has actually been up and running for almost 15 months now. You can find the first 41 pages of my original thread HERE. I decided to start a new thread because it had been so long since I updated the thread that things were more than stale and some of the changes I've made over the last week have completely changed the way and direction I'm taking with the tank. Hopefully some of the old followers will keep tabs on things over here now and hopefully some new faces will become regulars as well.

Here are the specs on the tank and equipment, along with current tank inhabitants and a series of FTS's starting from the month I started last June/July.

The Tank

• 17g 60-L from Green Leaf Aquariums
  • Dimension: 23.6 x 11.8 x 14.2in
  • Glass Thickness: 5mm

p949740914-3.jpg

p646272659-3.jpg

The Equipment

• Vortech MP10
  • Koralia Nano
  • Pendant - Ryujin LED Lighting -- Made By NanoBox (DaveFason)
  • Heater (eventually will be an in-line)
  • Deltec MCE300

SPS

• Green Slimer
  • Red Bug Monti (Green w/red polyps)

Euphyllia

• Green/Purple Hammer
  • Todds Torch (eventually)

Others

• Blue Cloves
  • Red Mushroom
  • Duncan
  • Blasto Merletti
  • Green/Purple Favia

Acans

• FnF Sunset
  • Orange Rainbox
  • Blue/Red

Others

• Nightmares
  • Armor of God
  • Fruit Loops
  • Eagle Eyes