Top Shelf Aquatics

Sweet<3's Clownfish Adventure

sweet<3

So I have been addicted to clownfish for a while and have been hoping to get into the breeding scene. I figured I would share my experience =) I am an EXTREME beginner so beware haha. I currently have nine pairs:

SPAWNING::

• Onyx x Onyx
    IMG_6746.jpg

• Darwin x Extreme Snowflake
    IMG_6753.jpg

First spawn:
    2-28-12.jpg

NON-SPAWNING

• {NEW} Semi-Picasso x Semi-Picasso
    IMG_6801.jpg

• Platinum x {Onyx} Percula (This is one of my babies, look how nicely its coloring up :D )
    IMG_6738.jpg

• Onyx x Platinum
    IMG_6741.jpg

• Misbar/Semi-Onyx x {Possible Onyx} Percula (This girl lost most of her beautiful black coloration. Hoping some of it comes back :( )
    IMG_6790.jpg

• Gold Stripe Maroon x Gold Stripe Maroon (Sorry for the pic on this one, the acrylic isn't the best)
    IMG_6795.jpg

• Darwin x Black Ice
    IMG_6768.jpg

• Naked Ocellaris x Naked Ocellaris
    Nakeds.jpg

• Darwin x Regular Ocellaris
    IMG_6781.jpg

Here is my broodstock system:

Messy as usual:

IMG_6826.jpg

Plumbing:

IMG_6822.jpg

Sump:

IMG_6819.jpg

Rotifers:

IMG_6827.jpg

MY FIRST ATTEMPTS (BACKSTORY)::

Last month (July 2011) my Onyx x Onyx pair laid their first clutch. I of course was on vacation and missed this =( They have laid two more clutches since. Although the male keeps eating most of the eggs, I attempted to raise what was left of the second clutch (around 19 eggs). In all 5 eggs hatched. 4 of the fry died within the first 24 hours. 1 lone survivor made it to about 40 hours. Not quite what I was hoping for, but it happens. The male ate all of the eggs of the latest clutch, so not sure when I will get another chance to try and raise the fry.

Here is the pair with the clutch I tried to raise:

SecondClutch.jpg