Innovative Marine Aquariums

Solana³: The Remix ft. Hydronaut

Hydronaut

Current FTS | (9/25/2011)

Solana_FTS%20%289-25-11%29.jpg

Intro

I originally purchased this tank in May 2011 in order to house a mated pair of F1 'Rio Monga' Amatitlania sp. ‘Honduran red point’ cichlids in a planted setting. I had always planned on moving on to reefing when I got around to buying a house, however shortly after setting this tank up I just couldn't resist the temptation to setup a reef system. And, being a design engineer by trade, I also could not resist the urge to tinker. Thus I have now ripped out the rear filtration system, installed an overflow, built a custom "display-style" sump/refugium in order to take advantage of the glass front on the stand, and packed the drawer full of all kinds of electronic gadgetry. So now it is August, 2011 - the construction is nearly complete and the last of the equipment is on the way. Cycling to commence in roughly 3 weeks. Thanks for stopping by!

P.S. The HRPs now reside in my 125g freshwater CA/SA tank across the room.

Tank Specs

• Display: 20"x20"x20" 34g Solana Cube modded with Glass-holes.com Super Nano Con Dientes overflow kit
  • Sump: 15"x15"x15" 14.6g custom built "display-style" sump/refugium, lit by a 6W 8000k Ecoxotic Stunner Strip
  • Lighting: Current USA Solana Pendant retrofitted with 250W Blue Wave MH Ballast
  • Circulation: Ecotech Marine Vortech MP10 EcoSmart | Hydor Koralia Nano 425
  • Return: Eheim Compact+ 3000
  • Skimmer: SWC Xtreme 120 Cone
  • Heating: CA 150 watt Titanium Reef Heater
  • Cooling: Azoo Quad Cooling Fan Unit
  • Controller: Neptune Apex Lite
  • RO/DI: BRS 75gpd 5 Stage *PLUS* System w/ Dual TDS Meter

Parameters

• Temperature: 78-79°F
  • Ph: 8.1
  • Specific Gravity: 1.026 (35ppt)
  • Alkalinity: 12 dKH

Livestock

• Coral Banded Shrimp
  • Pipe Organ Coral (Tubipora musica)

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply