ReefCleaners.org

Driftwood and macroalgaes?

SbCaes

Im thinking of adding a piece of driftwood to my macroalgae tank... is there anything that might go wrong? or right for that matter? anyone know?

would it be beneficial at all for macros? etc etc? thought i might look cool and i found it when i was in hawaii underthewater (it sinks) in sw.

Amphiprion1

Shouldn't be an issue, especially if it was already soaking in seawater for a while. Not really beneficial, except for being a nice 'scaping touch. You can certainly sometimes find wood in actual seagrass beds, too.

i was thinking ph.....someone else did that here, never kept up with their tank thread though...

same any issues?

I've got no experience with driftwood- but if and when I set up a shallow tank, here's what I'm doing-

Step 1. Slather that sh*t in epoxy.

Step 2. Let dry/cure

Step 3. Place in tank and not worry about leeching issues.

There's a few guys on here who've got shallow lagoon style tanks that have driftwood in their displays and use this method. For driftwood that's exposed to the air, it'll give it a nice permanent wet look. Do a search for "driftwood + epoxy" on the members tanks section of the site, you'll get some hits.

doppelganger

the only thing I can think of might be the tannic acid that could be produced. It'd cause a drop in pH. Honestly I don't think this will affect it too much tho. Unless you have like a ginormous log taking up like 3/4's of ur display, you'll probably never notice any pH fluctuation. Again, it depends on how big the system is and how much wood you want to add. If you soaked or boiled it or wutever and let the tannins leach out a bit even better. If you really want to be safe, I'd probably use epoxy as well like goldy mentioned.

Always loved the look of driftwood tho so if you do it, I'd be interested in seeing! :)

wrasseWrangler