inTank Media Baskets

At The Bommie's Edge - New Animals!

xerophyte_nyc

xerophyte_nyc

P10006651024x576.jpg

My first FTS: water + salt + fish + tank = reef

Day One:

My 39g CADLights Pro set-up arrived today...well, almost. The stand and 120W LED are due to arrive next week in separate boxes.

I have a very strong background in science (I am a doctor) and a long history in horticulture - specifically cactus, succulents and cycads. After spending countless hours delving into the reefing world, the similarities between the 2 hobbies is startling. Both are filled with beauty and joy, and immersed in folklore and nonsense.

I will take a very 'scientific' approach to this new hobby of mine. We shall see how it evolves. I have zero experience with aquaculture. The CADLights 39G system seems to be a good mix of style and utility in a modest size.

I am still weeks away from adding saltwater, rock and waiting for a cycle. I will create a DSB and have the aquascape supported by PVC so as to maximize on the volume of sand for the critters. I am not at all convinced that a skimmer is important if good technique is practiced. I plant to stock a few fish (a pair of clowns, royal gramma...) and some nice coral though not sure what yet.

I already purchased Spectrapure's MaxCap RO/DI to make my own clean H2O. I have the Reefkeeper Lite 3 and a Vortech MP-10. It will all be set-up in due time.

I look forward to this journey and welcome any questions, comments and discussion.

x

• Replies 83
  • Created
  • Last Reply
xerophyte_nyc

I read some real horror stories about this tank on other forums, mainly with regards to shipping and breakage. The tank's box was palletized and it took some effort to pry open the nailed woodboard. The packaging was of high quality and everything was intact.

IMG00047-20110505-1724640x506.jpg