SaltCritters.com

potentially embarassing question!

tharsis

I am just starting out my first tank and i have some mushrooms attached to live rocks that I purchased. I will be adding zoas and leathers in a couple weeks...

My question is what are safe handling procedures (wearing gloves etc) for corals (mushrooms, leathers, zoas, sps etc...). If I wanted to remove a mushroom, should i wear gloves while I try to pop him off?

Thanks!

With the Zooanthids you want to make sure and wear gloves and goggles due to the possible presence of Palytoxin. In the right circumstances; knicks and cuts on your hands, the entry of this toxin can lead to a quick death.

WelshMarine

I dont where gloves whilst fragging my leathers out of the water, just leaves a smell for an hour or 2 on your hands. as for popping mushrooms off ive done it in the past and killed the mushroom , best way is to pick around the base with a pin

With the Zooanthids you want to make sure and wear gloves and goggles due to the possible presence of Palytoxin. In the right circumstances; knicks and cuts on your hands, the entry of this toxin can lead to a quick death.

Well I am glad I asked, I am about to order a whole bunch of zooanthids. Goggles too? Do they just release the toxin when they are messed with? Will a pair of dishwashing gloves do?

What about things like aiptasia and majano?

WelshMarine

"What about things like aiptasia and majano?"

With aiptasia dont pull it off it wont sting you or anything but it can make things worst it can spread more. Aiptasia X or Aiptasia eating fish/shrimp to kill it / them

"What about things like aiptasia and majano?"

With aiptasia dont pull it off it wont sting you or anything but it can make things worst it can spread more. Aiptasia X or Aiptasia eating fish/shrimp to kill it / them