Coral Vue Hydros

Atomic's 28g JBJ Nanocube

Atomic081

Atomic's 28 Gallon JBJ Nanocube

After almost 4 years in this hobby Im back to where I started. Im setting up a 28g JBJ Nanocube HQI with all the bells and whistles. Im going all out for this tank. Im not going to make the mistake of doing something wrong the first time and upgrading. I will be updating this thread throughout my journey with my Nanocube. I hope everyone on here will enjoy the ride as much as I do.

A little history about myself:

I got into Saltwater aquariums on Sept 21, 2007. I bought my first 24 gallon Aquapod and have been obsessed from that day forward. I was a complete noob and made many mistakes but have learned a few valuable lessons along the way. I started the tank wanting only softies and a few LPS. It was so much fun! I got my first few fish and coral but like everyone i had the itch for bigger and better. After 9 months with the Aquapod (June 2008). I upgraded to my first big boy tank. A 90g RR with all the bells and whistles, or so i thought at the time. It came with metal halides, calcium reactors, skimmers, tons of coral and fish. Big fish, like tangs!!! It didn't take me long to realize that there is a big difference between the cheap and expensive equipment. I ended up replacing everything on the 90g except for the tank itself. I replaced the lights, ballasts, sump, skimmer, stand, canopy, and calcium reactor. It cost me a small fortune but i got good reliable equipment. I loved this tank. I had all types of SPS, Clams, A blue carpet anemone, big tangs, and I saw incredible growth at times. I had this tank up and running for almost 3 years until a few weeks back when a Ice storm hit our area. The power went out while I was on vacation. I came home to the worst smell ever and everything was dead. So now I decided to go back to a simple tank that I can fix with most things with a few simple water changes. A tank that I can add a 10 dollar frag too and have it not get lost in 175