Cultivated Reef

rbeng's procrastination station

rbengal

Welp, I finally feel really good about my tank. Good enough to make a thread for it even!

Here's the breakdown:

5.5G AGA

PAR38 20,000K with 60 degree optics

AC mini (w/fuge and surface skimmer mods)

Mini-Jet 606

50W Stealth heater & Coralife digital thermometer

Also have access to a refractometer and YSI meter for OMG super accurate salinity readings.

~6lbs of LR

~5lbs of LS

For this tank I am also using filtered natural sea water. I have read many things on using NSW and decided that I would prefer to use it, even though I also have access to Instant Ocean salt. I am a grad student in a marine bio lab and have easy access to this water, which is taken from our Marine Lab.

Without further ado! my FTS.

It sure took a lot of scaping to get it the way I wanted it!

rockscape.jpg

With PAR38 action

par38tank.jpg

So far my hitchhikers, which includes (so far) a few serpulid worms, a couple of small brittle stars, and a Psuedocorynactis are doing very well even though the tank has been cycling.

Livestock plans

CUC - 3 dwarf ceriths, 2 nass (going hermitless)

3 Sexy Shrimp

1 pom pom crab

Possibly a crinoid squat lobster

Zoas, Palys, LPS, and maybe some SPS in the future, but these will be placed in the center of the spotlight on the tonga branch, with lower light requiring corals on the outsides.

I would really like to add a squat lobster to the shrimp and crab since it's something not everyone has, but would that be overstocking?

Time for a quick update (since I am procrastinating).

I added a black background, just some matte posterboard from Michael's and I think it looks much cleaner now. Originally I was going to leave it, but all the cords back there just ruined it. I am thinking about painting the PVC that makes up the surface skimmer. Right now it sticks out pretty bad.

Changed the scape a teeny tiny bit again, but I swear I'll keep it this way! Maybe.