Top Shelf Aquatics

Captivating Reef's Solana 34G Build

Captivating_Reef

Captivating_Reef

Hello everyone I am fairly new to Nano-Reef and have recently started up a Solana 34G with Sunpod and Stand. It's been running for about three weeks I finally got the time to post it on here now. I wanted to put this on the all solana owners thread but tried to contact d'espresso and got nothing back so I'm putting it here hope nobody minds. I'll start with a list of everything I've got now and a pic before the build.

Started May 9, 2010

Solana 34G

Expresso Stand

Sunpod 150w HQI

Marineland 100w Stealth pro heater

Ecotech Marine ecosmart mp10

CaribSea Live Sand Oolite 40LBS

Brightwell Aquatics NeoMarine Salt (good for 150 Gallons)

Brightwell Aquatics Calcion p

Brightwell Aquatics Alkalin 8.3p

All the filtration equipment is stock that came with the Solana. I was thinking of upgrading the skimmer to the Sapphire skimmer that most Solana owners do but I'll see if this one is good enough. Future modifications on this is going to be a challenge but I have a real big motivation to do it. I want to put another tank or possibly even two in the stand underneath to use as a larval and growout tank for breeding. I was thinking of getting them custom made to fit inside. I definitely think it will be a big challenge but hey it will be fun! ;) Heres a pic of all the stuff.

post-46907-1275185093_thumb.jpg

Captivating_Reef

I added about 15 LBS of live rock Rubble 1 week later. I used a 2 part epoxy putty from two little fishes company that is colored pink like coralline algae. The product was ok but later I used one from instant ocean and it was easier to apply. They both did ok but for anything in the future especially if I go bigger I'll be using acrylic rods and drilling holes to hold the aquascape together. So here's a couple pic's of the rocks being put together into the aquascape.

post-46907-1275185995_thumb.jpg

post-46907-1275186089_thumb.jpg

Captivating_Reef