SaltCritters.com

Lex's 20 High Mixed Reef

lex0219

After a few years of being out of the hobby I decided it was time for another tank, so without further adieu my 20 High Mixed Reef!

Equipment:

20 Gallon High by AGA

20'' 150 Watt Sunpod W/ 14K Phoenix Bulb

X2 Koralia Nano 425 (425GPH)

100 Watt Marineland Stealth Heater

Aquatic Life Internal Mini Protein Skimmer 115

Coralife Digital Thermometer

Double Underwater Light

AquaClear 110, with Heater & Skimmer and modded for additional filtration

AZOO Cooling Twin Fans

Livestock:

25-30lbs LR (Mostly Fiji)

20lbs CaribSea Aragonite Reef Sand

Fish:

-None Yet-

Planned:

X2 ORA True or False Perc Clowns

Yellow Candy Hogfish

and possibly a

Bicolor Blenny

Invertebrates:

x5 Dwarf Blue Leg Hermit Crab

x3 Turbo Snail

x4 Nassarius Snail

Corals:

Macro Algea:

Chaetomorpha

Current FTS Updated April 19th 2010

20GallonHighReef006-2.jpg

The Build

This is my first build thread so bear with me!

So after reading many threads and I have decided to try my hand at another reef. So of course I read and read and was torn between a 20L, 20H and 29 and ultimately decided upon the 20 High because it had the perfect foot print. I decided upon a false wall to hid most of the equipment and hide the intake to my AC110 as well as serve as a fuge. The back as well as the piece of acrylic that serves as the false wall are painted with Krylon Fusion. Their is also a baffle behind the false wall that serves to separate the fuge and filter intake. In the fuge are 2 under water lights that will be on a reverse cycle from the Sunpod. The Sunpod is also suspended over the tank making it an open top and sits right at above 6 1/2 inches above the water and runs from 11AM - 11PM.

Ill post up pics and updates as I go and below are some pics of the build.

First FTS

20GallonHighReef008-1.jpg

Cutting Acrylic

20GallonHighReef003-1.jpg

Cut and in the Tank

20GallonHighReef011.jpg

Baffles Cut out with Dremel

20GallonHighReef007.jpg