Top Shelf Aquatics

LED light diy

jtl2

After researching LED builds I decided to try it myself. Thought I'd post the build here so I can help Evil get to 100 LED builds here on NR.

2 - 7.29" x 13" heat sinks

24 - CREE XP-G R5 bin LEDs

24 - CREE XR-E Royal Blue LEDs

4 - Meanwell ELN-60-48D drivers

Layout of one of the heat sinks

BerquistThermalPads.jpg

LEDsmounted.jpg

Spacing is 1.75" between horizontal rows and 2" spacing between LEDs. Not planning to use optics since the fixture will be close to the tank.

WiredLEDs.jpg

Still seeing spots even with the Meanwell SRV2 and the dimmer control both turned down.

Whitesonly.jpg

RoyalBlues.jpg

Wow, that is a monster build. What is it going over?

A 46 gallon bowfront.

This is the 0-10VDC supply for the Meanwell dimmer circuit. You can see how far it was turned down from 10volts.

0-10VDCdisplay.jpg

im putting 60 LEDs over a 72 bowfront lol .. im no expert but WOW that is a lot for a 46

With no optics and the dimmer circuit I think it will be fine.

I am putting 24 LEDs over a 24g nano, which appears common from what I have read here. That would make 48 over a 46 about right wouldn't it?

Going to make the housing for the heatsinks/LEDs out of wood...any advice on a waterproof spray paint? I've seen Krylon fusion mentioned in some other threads. Thanks in advance

Most people that are using Krylon are using it to paint their tanks of the plumbing parts. I would not recommend any kind of "rattle can" paint for wood. Do you need a color or just water proofing? A good oil based paint over primer should be fine, but if you want to go HD, swing by your local boating store/Marina and check out what they have in both stains & paints (Marine grade). BTW - nice build thread and love your acrylic dimmer box. Great job so far.

I don't know jack about the adhesive pads you used to mount the Crees, but I wondering if using them precludes the need to buff out the heatsink? If so that would be a great time saver.