Cultivated Reef

eswong's Cube of Awesome! (Tons of Pics!)

eswong

So after much persuasion from a buddy, I went out and bought a 28 gallon Nano Cube CF Quad. I had been wanting one for awhile, but I am still pretty new to aquaria. I bought my fist tank nearly 5 months ago, and now including the nano we have 5 fish tanks in our 1200 square foot house. 4 are freshwater, I know its lame, but like I said I'm new to this.

On to the Nano!

I purchased the tank and stand 07/03/2009. I brought them home, set them up, and filled the tank up with tap water. Then I added dechlorinator and the salt, and let that mix up over night.

I live in Indy, so the next day I went to Premium Aquatics, bought a little over 20 pounds of their aqua-cultured sand, and 22-23 pounds of premium live rock from Timpora and Bali.

SaltwaterTank001.jpg

Sorry this pic sucks.

Within a few days I had stuff coming up everywhere!

SaltwaterTank002.jpg

SaltwaterTank003.jpg

SaltwaterTank008.jpg

I took out the bio-rings and all the sponges from the overflow, I mean all of them! Put in some filter floss and let it do it's thing.

7/6/09 Did a water test : Ammonia 0ppm, Nitrite 0ppm, Nitrate 10 ppm, P.H. 8.3-8.4, theses were the only test I had at that time. A few days later, I had an algae explosion!! So I figured I was close to the end on the initial cycle.

So on 7/11/09 I added the following CUC members: 10 Margarita snails, 10 Nassarius snails, 3 Red scarlet hermits, and 3 Baha hermits They went to town, lost a couple Margaritas and a scarlet a couple days in.

7/13/09 Water test: Ammonia 0ppm, Nitrite 0ppm, Nitrate 5ppm, P.H. 8.3-8.4. Did a 5 gallon water change, now using RO/DI water and Instant Ocean reef crystals. The Algae kept growing and taking over the tank.

so on 7/18/09 add a second wave of CUC members: 10 Nerite snails, 8 Cerith snails, 3 Trochus, 1 butterscotch snail, 2 more Baha Hermits, and a Red Skunk cleaner shrimp

SaltwaterTank023.jpg

lost the Butterscotch the next day.