Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

My first pico reef.

sargieboy

Hi all im sargie im from the uk i have been into fish keeping for some years and i have been keeping tropicals in a juwel rekord 60 for a few months now. I stopped after i moved home and have just restarted.

I wanted somthing to keep me busy now my tropical tank is happily running along.

So on sunday i went out and bought a 3.5 gallon beeta life space. I have added some live sand and about 2kg of live rock i got maybe more than i wanted but it is very hard to get small pieces were i live.

I am using waterlife marine salt i have tested with a hydrometer to get my sg to 1.023. I have an aqua one 55 watt heater and a thermometer.

The lighting is stock and comprise of 2 8 watt T5 flouresent tubes one white one blue (forget the proper name :))

I have got a bacterial bloom today and ammonia tests at 0.25 so the cycle is definatly underway.

Parameters are..gh 180, kh 240,ph 7.0 ,no2 0, no3 0. I will add a ph buffer if my ph doesnt change over the next day or so to achieve 8.3.

There is also i stock trickel filter that actualy produces pretty good flow once i start adding corals i may add an extra power head if the flow is inadequate.

I have been using de-ionised water from the supermarket too.

101_0168.jpg

Equipment

Betta lifespace 3.5 gallon tank.

Rio nano skimmer with purigen.

Koralia nano power head

Aqua one 55w visi therm heater.

2lb live sand.

4lb live rock.

Glass thermometer.

Stock lighting unit with one T5 8w actinic and one hagen power glo T5 8w 18k high intensity bulb.

Reef crystals salt.

Live Stock

3 Cerith snails.

3 Astrea snails

3 Narssicus vibex snails

1 Scarlet hermit

1 juvinile percula clown

Corals

1 green montipora digitata

1 pulsing xenia

I like the rock work man. I've never seen that particular tank over here in the States, good find.