Top Shelf Aquatics

JB's first 34 solana transformer

bxz

Hi everyone, a total newbie for salt water fish/reef tank, we finally got most things ready to start our solana. I've never had any experience for fish, but I love watch discovery channel, deep blue sea, planet earth. Me and my wife spent our honeymoon in Great Barrier Reef in AU, we got diver certified on a 5 day live boat course, and that's when I thought I wanna keep a home aquarium. The reef was just unbelievably beautiful, we saw all kinds of fish, coral, turtle and even white tip shark.

After about a month of initial researching, I decided to go with CurrentUSA Solana 34, it looks clean and modern, I picked the black brown stock stand as it matches our furniture, and T5 light fixture. I bought the set online. There are two different SKUs on the store, both exactly same description and one is cheaper, and it comes even with the hanging arm kit. I called to ask the difference and they were not able to tell, so I went ahead and get the cheaper one.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

After reading a lot about DSB, BB, I decided to go BB, I know both have pros and cons. But I know I like the sand bed looking, it's more natural, so I made a faut SB using a HDPE, some epoxy and CaribSea sand.

4.jpg

5.jpg

I bought some live rock from craigslist that weekend, I'm not sure what rock it is, but looks like fiji. Anyway, the guy who sold me the rock is selling everything in his tank, I picked about 30lb for $60. Since I was still waiting for my typhoon, I had to put the rock in a plastic tank with some water from him. 2 days later, my typhoon arrived.

Filling with DI water from Typhoon III, BTW, the typhoon is a lot bigger than I thought.

6.jpg

7.jpg