inTank Media Baskets

Lear's Tropical Reef Worm Habitat

Lear

So, I started out here on nanoreef.com as a complete noob a little over a year ago.

Since then, I've mostly migrated over to a more local nano reef club, which used to be called "NCNRS" but recently re-formed as "NCRC", the NorCal Reef Club. I mostly post on my tank thread there, but since I occasionally visit here, and as this was the original source of inspiration and information back when I was completely ignorant of all things reef-ish, I thought I'd start a real tank thread here. :)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On February 3, 2008, I joined the nano-reefing hobby, purchasing a 5-month-old 14g biocube from a really nice guy on craiglist. My new incredible money & time sink came with everything, including all the supplies I needed, an awesome metal halide "SunPod" lamp, well-cycled live rock & sand, some macro algae, and a hermit crab, who received much love being the only moving inhabitant. All the cube needed was some fish and coral! And now, after a year in the hobby and a whole lot of help from here and from the members of NCRC, my cube is pretty much maxed out on fish and coral... it's been completely transformed into a coral paradise!

A recent photo (2/7/2009):

cattycorner_fts.jpg

Specs:

Biocube 14g, with a Sunpod (70W metal halide, 14k or 20k bulbs)

Stealth 50w heater in chamber 1; widened flow to chamber 2

LR rubble + filter floss + chemipure + carbon in chamber 2

MJ900 pump in chamber 3

calcium ~490, alkalinity ~2.9 meq/L, pH ~ 8.0, S.G. ~1.024, temp 79-83

Current inhabitants (as of 3/31/09):

Critters:

* 1 young Amphiprion ocellaris clownfish (to heck with "true perculas", I've got a "true Nemo" ;))

* 1 baby Cryptocentrus cinctus yellow watchman goby

* 1 Alpheus randalli Randall's pistol shrimp

* 1 medium Lysmata amboinensis skunk cleaner shrimp

* 5 Stichodactyla tapetum mini carpet anemone