SaltCritters.com

Biocube 14 LED Retrofit done!

crs2k

I just have to start this by thanking Waterproof and Evilc66. I think I bugged them to death with my build. I am a total newb when it comes to any kind of electronics, lighting, soldering, etc., so my knowledge was really just coming from their threads and posts. But with their help, my build is done!

Mine is a little bit different than Waterproofs, but the same idea. You'll see some of the differences as I go through the pictures. Here we go:

Started with the heatsink marked with sharpie for the location of holes and mounting, as per Waterproofs specs in his post. I decided to go the 12 LED route. 6 white, 6 royal blue. (cree XR-E from ledsupply.com)

post-36029-1239070588_thumb.jpg

I drilled, tapped, and mounted all the LED's.

post-36029-1239070602_thumb.jpg

Here is my project box all wired up. I used 1000mA buckpucks with pots (only I forgot to specify the pots, so I had to add my own, DOH!) I also have two power supplies, so they are not wired in parallel.

post-36029-1239071440_thumb.jpg

Here is the outside of the box. Pots on top, power jacks on one side, LED jacks on the other.

post-36029-1239070639_thumb.jpg

post-36029-1239070621_thumb.jpg

post-36029-1239070666_thumb.jpg

Here are the power supplies I used. 24V 6.5A Potrans from MPJA.

post-36029-1239070680_thumb.jpg

This is how everything connects.

post-36029-1239070693_thumb.jpg

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Continued...

I chose to do a top mount fan. Again, I used a spec sheet that Waterproof had done in another thread and drilled the hood. By doing this, I had to do my brackets a little differently, because they blocked the fan at first. So it turned in to four little individual brackets.

post-36029-1239071775_thumb.jpg

I used a silenx 80mmx15mm fan. Fit with no problem at all. Plenty of room.

post-36029-1239071786_thumb.jpg

Here is the top of the hood.

post-36029-1239071794_thumb.jpg