Innovative Marine Aquariums

Legend's Biocube 14

mdavis203

Stardate: March 12, 2009

I just started my BC14 today. I'm not posting pictures yet for several reasons:

1. My tank looks like crap, because I have too much rock in it. Saw a GREAT piece at the LFS and bought it, along with some smaller ones. However, it's too big for my tank. Gotta return it for a few smaller pieces and redo my reefscaping.

2. I haven't done anything yet that isn't posted in a hundred other threads in this forum.

3. My daughter took the digital camera on vacation with her this week.

So far, I've done the following:

*Removed bioballs and gave them to the cats to play with.

*Removed all trays in chamber 2 and threw away.

*Beat filter tray in chamber 1 with screwdriver until it got loose enough I could pull it out.

*Removed sponge and threw away.

*Explained to wife that the reason I was tearing up a brand new tank was that I was an Engineer, and I could make it better.

*Replaced stock return pump with Maxi-jet 900.

*Installed 75 watt Stealth heater.

*About 12-13 lbs. live sand.

*About 19.5 lbs. live rock--too much, will probably trim down to about 16-17 lbs, unless I can rearrange what I've got to look better.

So at this moment, I have a cold, cloudy tank with an ugly rockscape. But the heater's on, the water's circulating, and I'll rescape it later. The important thing is the cycle has started.

What I have planned:

*DIY LED lighting, basically a copy of Waterproof's build. I may go with 12 LED's instead of 11, though. But it'll be basically the same.

*Install StevieT's Media Basket in the second chamber. I've got it ordered, and will run Chemipure in the bottom, a chaeto fuge (with StevieT's fuge light) in the middle, and filter floss (Walmart Pillow Stuffing) in the top.

*StevieT's fish saver, both for keeping fish out of the back and blocking light from the fuge at night.

*Nanotuner's R2 moonlight.